A Year in Review: All the books I read in 2020

Well, what else was there to do?

Lynsey Englebrecht
your cinema gal
4 min readMay 6, 2021

--

Photo by Sincerely Media on Unsplash

The Backstory

2019 was really the year I became heavily obsessed with reading for leisure as an adult. Over the years, I’d always admired good books, and I even dabbled into some during the last couple of years of high school, but once college hit, I focused a lot of my attention on school and sports (collegiate student-athletics is no joke). I was married to school and sports for so long, that reading for leisure was nearly unimaginable.

Flash forward two years after graduation: 2020.

It was a year for fiction; it was a year for escapism, and it was a year for stretching my wings out into the book world. Over the course of one year — 366 days (thanks leap year) — I read 25 books. For many avid readers, they can read 25 books in about 3 months, but for me this was HUGE. Not to mention, besides one book in January, I didn’t pick up another book until COVID-19 had stunted the entire world.

When March came around and I was stuck at home just like the rest of you, I picked up a book and truly never put one down for the rest of the year. I was instantly addicted. So much so, that I made it my goal to read 24 books by the end of the year — 24 books for my 24th year. I finished the 25th book about a week before New Years', so pat myself on the back for good timing.

And so my adventure began…

The Books

Let me preface by saying, not all were great or kept me interested, and in no way was this easy, especially for someone who had only read about 6 books (if that) a year before this. Some took me a month to drudge through, others I read in one or two days. Some I read physical print copies of, others I read on my Kindle (also a great addition for quarantine), and some I even listened to on audiobook.

Nonetheless, 366 days, 25 books, and 11,771 pages later, I give you my list:

When Katie Met Cassidy by Camille Perri

The Institute by Stephen King

The Nanny by Gilly Macmillan

The Shining by Stephen King

Doctor Sleep by Stephen King

Misery by Stephen King

Keeping You A Secret by Julie Anne Peters

Carrie by Stephen King

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling

The Outsider by Stephen King

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

The Whisper Man by Alex North

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

The Emerald Atlas by John Stephens

The Left-Handed Booksellers of London by Garth Nix

A 2021 Sneak Peek

Some of my favorites from 2020 were: all Harry Potter, all Hunger Games, The Insitute, The Shining, Ready Player One, The Left-Handed Booksellers of London. A lot of these titles played a significant role in my interest and intrigue in the Fantasy genre. Through searches of similar titles, I’ve been able to sift through both popular and not-so-popular titles in order to gear up my 2021 reading list.

I’m well aware we’re nearly halfway through 2021 (holy…halfway already?!), and so far I’m 16 books into my 25 book goal, that I’m hoping to absolute obliterate by the way; here are a few of the titles I’ve divulged into this year thus far:

The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman

The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes by Suzanne Collins

The Umbrella Academy, Vols. 1 & 2 by Gerard Way

It by Stephen King

A Very Punchable Face by Colin Jost (one of my favorite nonfiction books ever)

The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

Stardust by Neil Gaiman

Thanks so much for reading! For more information on the books that I’ve read and want to read, find me on Goodreads here. Also follow that link if you want to become friends and talk about books.

--

--