I’m So Done Right Now

Dawn Harper
Unrelated to Bears and Tombstones
2 min readSep 6, 2018
Photo by Kat Smith from Pexels

(Originally Published January 10, 2018 on another blog)

The day’s been long, and it’s only noon.

The week’s been long, and it’s only Tuesday.

The year’s been long and it’s still January.

Wake up, get dressed, go to work

Keep a straight face, don’t go berserk

Keep on chugging til you go home.

How early will my body let me sleep?

Try to dose off before my thoughts get deep.

It gets harder these days, my thoughts get started early.

Oops, I woke up half an hour late.

Leave the house so fast, I can’t see straight.

Don’t know why I care, cause I’ve got nobody waiting.

I’m so done.

My brain is fried.

When do I come out the other side?

When can I breath?

When can I go back to normal?

I’m so done.

Have I reached the end?

When is my smile no longer pretend?

When will home be something to write home about?

Because I’m so done right now.

Maybe a prince will save me from

This treadmill, this daily dungeon.

It’s stupid to hope for anything but hum-drum.

Maybe if I get time next week,

I’ll finally climb that local peak,

Or maybe I’ll just find some time to breathe.

I’m so done.

My brain is fried.

When do I come out the other side?

When can I breath?

When can I go back to normal?

I’m so done.

Have I reached the end?

When is my smile no longer pretend?

When will home be something to write home about?

Because I’m so done right now.

I’m so done.

My brain is fried.

When do I come out the other side?

When can I breath?

When can I go back to normal?

I’m so done.

Have I reached the end?

When is my smile no longer pretend?

When will home be something to write home about?

Because I’m so done right now.

--

--

Dawn Harper
Unrelated to Bears and Tombstones

Dawn is a web developer, content creator, armchair philosopher, and mediocre Mario Kart player.