Ought Implies Can

Dawn Harper
Unrelated to Bears and Tombstones
1 min readSep 8, 2018
unknown source

Immanuel Kant said, “Ought implies can,” meaning if you can’t do something, you have no obligation to do it. This seemed obvious to me, until I tried to put it to practice. My expectations for my behavior often exceed my capacity. I think the problem here is not a fundamental disagreement with the philosophy, but rather an inability to gauge my capacity.

I oughtn’t do things that I can’t do.

So if I find myself trying to go grocery shopping, do a week’s worth of homework, cook dinner, and give my friend a ride across town, I shouldn’t be kicking myself because I couldn’t fit in volunteering at the blood drive without dropping something else.

--

--

Dawn Harper
Unrelated to Bears and Tombstones

Dawn is a web developer, content creator, armchair philosopher, and mediocre Mario Kart player.