didn’t see me on the train-red head-let’s spend our lives together-nov 13th

m4w (manhattan)

Gabe Capone
Yours Truly
Published in
2 min readNov 14, 2013

--

Dear future wife,

I wish I would've said something to you on the train, but you were intensely reading your kindle fire and I didn't want to disturb you. You should know that I’m very sensitive to other people’s space and privacy. I’m not interested in getting too close to anyone. Well, except for you. I would love for us to get close. I don’t mean immediately of course. Let’s take it slow. We don’t even know each other after all. Not yet.

I was watching you read from the other side of the subway car and a strand of your flowing, red hair dipped in front of you face and you effortlessly tucked it behind your ear. I imagined our first date at this cute little Italian place on Elizabeth Street, you tucked that strand of hair behind your ear after I made you laugh with my witty observation about how we were told to drink bottled water because tap water was dangerous and now we’re told that we shouldn't drink bottle water because it’s bad for the environment. When you rolled over in bed to tell me how much you loved me the morning after our destination wedding, you tucked that strand of hair behind your ear just before kissing me passionately. You tucked that strand of hair behind your ear after the birth of our first son while we came up with names for him like Bogart and Cagney and Dalton or something strong like that. When we purchased our own split-level home in West Chester County, you tucked that strand of hair behind your ear after leaning forward to open the door for the first time. After you reached down to embrace one of our six grand kids, you tucked that strand of hair behind your ear. As I prepared to be be the oldest man ever to parachute out of a plane, you tucked that strand of hair behind your ear after kissing my forehead and saying goodbye.

Anyway, hit me up as soon as you can. I would love to hear from you!

Yours Truly,

Posting ID: 4143441

  • Location: Manhattan
  • it’s NOT ok to contact this poster with services or other commercial interests

Posted: 2013-11-14, 1:00PM EDT

--

--

Gabe Capone
Yours Truly

Writing mostly…joking around a lot…making art here and there…improvising all the time. Found on Medium, Thanks for Calling, Fatherly, Substack, other spots.