How your sexuality can make you privileged

Renata Félix
Youth for Global Goals
4 min readJun 6, 2020
Photo by Jasmin Sessler on Unsplash

When I was in High School I had a Philosophy teacher who often encouraged us to discuss our opinions on several different topics. And I will never forget the class where we discussed, for the first and last time, homosexuality.

I don’t remember what led to the topic but I remember how one of my classmates said something along the lines of: ‘’If I had a son that was gay, I wouldn’t accept him until he turned straight. If that never happens, then he would not be my son’’.

The discussion went on and on about how that would be neglect and how he would love his son too much to do something like that.

I asked to speak and I said: ‘’It’s called sexual orientation and not sexual choice. You don’t choose the gender of the people you love and feel attracted to. Same-gender relationships are just as normal as heterosexual relationships’’.

Just as I said this I was brutally shut up by the teacher, as if I had said the most stupid thing in the world. So much so that everyone laughed at my argument. It was a joke for weeks. That’s why I remember this moment so vividly.

It has been five years since this incident and I still remember it like it was yesterday. How can I forget that my classmates, in 2015, at the age of 16, were quicker to judge me for defending a minority than our classmate that judged someone for their sexuality?

I guess it was hard for some people to understand that, just because they are part of a majority, that doesn’t make them ‘’normal’’ and on the right.

I wish that I could tell you that, in the five years that followed that event, things have changed. But they haven’t.

Can you imagine being denied food during a pandemic, because your same-sex relationship doesn’t fit someone’s definition of family?

Because that’s the reality of Rhed Francisco, a Philipino woman who was denied food at a food bank because they didn’t recognize her relationship with a woman, as a family.

Did you know that there are only 29 countries in the world where same-sex marriage is legal? That’s concerning considering there are over 100+ countries in the world!

Since many countries in the world don’t recognize same-sex marriage, people who share a different sexuality are often victims of prejudice and are denied access to things such as medical care and even food for their families.

According to a report from OutRight, during this pandemic, LGBTQ+ people around the globe have been more severely impacted by COVID-19 because of their sexuality. OutRight also points out that people who are part of the LGBTQ+ community are being denied access to healthcare, safety, and livelihoods.

A few weeks ago we talked about privilege during a health crisis, it never even occurred to me, while sitting on my high-horse of privilege, that my sexuality may give me access to BASIC HUMAN NEEDS that are DENIED to some people who have a different sexual orientation.

As a white, cisgender, heterosexual woman living in a peaceful and safe country, it sometimes is hard to understand the levels of my privilege. I guess it might be hard for other privileged people to see it too sometimes. That’s why we need these kinds of reality checks.

Just because we have never lived this harsh reality, that doesn’t mean we can live in the wrong idea that everyone knows the world as we do. That’s simply unrealistic.

SDG 10 — Reduced Inequalities aims to achieve a world with equal opportunity and reduce inequalities of outcome, including by eliminating discriminatory laws, policies, and practices and promoting appropriate legislation, policies, and action in this regard. I really hope we can achieve a world where this is possible!

Scotland is already leading the way for change. In this country, it is now required that LGBTQ+ issues are taught in schools. And Costa Rica just became the first Central American country to legalize same-sex marriage.

All of this is great but we need to keep fighting and speaking more about these topics! Change is important and we should be demanding change to happen now!

We are the future of this planet and, as the future parents of the future generations, we have an obligation to make this world a better place! I refuse to raise my future children in a world where love is judged based on gender.

Enough is enough and change is long overdue. Can I count on you to make a difference?

--

--