Revolutions & Resourcefulness

Hritika Chaturvedi
Youth of Neuroscience
4 min readMar 27, 2021

Manasa Kothapalli describes her passion for innovation in the field of neuroscience as she reflects on her high school and undergraduate experiences. Learn more about Kothapalli’s aspiration to benefit patient care by advancing neurotechnological techniques as they relate to minimally invasive procedures.

Photo by Manasa Kothapalli

Where are you from, what do you study, where are you currently based?

Hi! I’m from Orange County and currently a senior at the University of
Southern California where I’m majoring in business and minoring in neuroscience.

Why neuroscience?

Neuroscience is an evolving subject, so there’s always more material to learn,
research to conduct, and technology to develop. The intricacies of the brain are also fascinating in that the smallest mutation can lead to drastic effects of the body so learning different development mechanisms is always interesting.

What first sparked your curiosity about neuroscience, and how did your interest inspire what you are currently doing?

As an aspiring pre-med student in high school, I attended Brown University’s
Biomedical Engineering spring program, where I was introduced to the complexities of neuroscience as we addressed emerging ethical dilemmas associated with cutting edge innovation. Through this program, I also realized that neuroscience entailed an interesting amalgamation between two of my interest areas: biology and psychology. Furthermore, the plasticity of our nervous system is truly fascinating given its ability to change depending on extrinsic variables.

What sort of experience do you carry in your field of interest?

Photo credit: https://www.bergelectric.com/work-item/uc-irvine-school-of-arts/

During my sophomore year of high school, I partook in a research program at
the University of California, Irvine (UCI), which centered around the intersectionality between dance and neuroscience. As a classical dancer, I’m very passionate about dance and this intrigued me as I wasn’t aware that two very different elements of my life could bisect so fluidly. For example, one study that resonated with me was testing the use of classical dance as a form of physical therapy for cerebral palsy patients as we monitored their gate.

What do you hope to accomplish in the future?

I hope to combine the experiences I have had in various industries to engage in
neurotechnology development in order to elevate patient care. Using budding mechanics, I would like to enable progressive treatment care, specializing in minimally invasive technology.

Do you find that your age hinders you in any way toward advancing in the field of STEM?

No, I’m grateful to have participated in opportunities targeted towards younger
generations. Being a young professional may seem daunting given the ample number of resources available within the STEM field, but my age also enables me to acquire tools, experiences and connections to further my endeavors. Also, I believe that being young allows me to be more successful because I’m developing my skillset in — what I believe to be — the fastest evolution of technology in modern history.

Do you think that there is more of an expectation from young scientists? A greater need to establish yourself?

I’m not sure if others had a higher expectation of me; if they did, it was never
imparted on me. I think the most important thing to do as a young student or professional in order to establish yourself is to take initiative.

Have you encountered any obstacles throughout your time in this field?

The biggest obstacle I encountered was the worry that I would have to choose
between my passions. Yet, as I engaged in different research programs, I began to
recognize the various crossovers within several fields of study. So, all the aspects that fueled my impediments resolved as I began to explore the intersectionality of STEM.

Do you think that young scientists receive the credit that they are due?

I believe that some young pioneers are credited for their advancements in
STEM, but most young scientists are not individually ascribed; however, this should not be discouraging. As young scientists, we are part of a larger movement and thus, we receive respect and appreciation for our diligence in advancing the health care system.

What is your take on interdisciplinary science, neuroscience in particular?

It’s important to have an interdisciplinary lens to further innovations. Multiple
perspectives can encourage further innovation opposed to singular, and inherently, blinded perspectives. In terms of research, having an interdisciplinary lens opens up more questions about a subject that can later be answered and studied.

Are you open to or keen on approaching neuroscience via an interdisciplinary lens?

Yes, I believe that taking part in a more interdisciplinary sector of neuroscience
can enforce further improvement as we learn new information and enhance our
technology.

What advice would you give to other young scientists who plan on entering or seek to establish themselves in STEM?

The best advice I’ve learned and would share is the importance of initiative.
Resourcefulness will ensure that you don’t pose as your own barrier. By taking matters into your own hands, you will allow yourself to participate in more opportunities and indulge in more experiences.

Interviewed by Hritika Chaturvedi

--

--

Hritika Chaturvedi
Youth of Neuroscience

San Gabriel High School ’21 | Aspiring Neuropathologist | Editor @ Young Scientists Journal | CEO @ Scientia Pieces | Youth of Neuroscience | Alzheimer's Assoc.