10 Books You Should Definitely Read in Your Lifetime

UmmulWaheedha
Youth Tamil Nadu
Published in
8 min readDec 4, 2020

--

Hello fellow bookworms and everyone! I have curated a list of books which I think are must reads in your lifetime. I have tried my best to include books from all types of genres and to be more inclusive and have many varieties, I have added books which were suggested by my close friends and bookworms who hope you will enjoy these books as much as we did! So, hope you read and enjoy, even if you aren’t able to read everything in this list, read books in this list which sounds right up your alley or you think it might be your cup of tea. Here I have a made a list of 10 books so I hope you enjoy them! And also, they are not in any particular order and I didn’t want to put them in any order because I love them with all of my heart and all of them are equally awesome.

1.The sun is also a star by Nicola Yoon

I personally recommend this book because this book has the trope of love at first sight which most of the readers are little bit skeptical and I agree with them too because its hard to pull off and only few of the authors manage to do it ! And Nicola Yoon has done an amazing job ! One of the things which makes this book really special is the POVs in this book. This book has multiple POVs but it has been executed so well that I didn’t mind it had multiple POVs and I actually enjoyed it. This might seem like a typical romance novel but it is more than that, it discusses about topics like morality ,identity , purpose and many more deep ones like how our actions and words can impact a person’s life which aren’t usually talked or executed well in romance novels. This one also has a movie so watch it if you can 😊.

2. The perks of being a wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

No list is complete without this one .Because this book is an absolute must read .This is one of the books I wish I had read earlier. I have suggested this book to so many people who have different tastes but everyone has liked them , so I hope you would too. This books gives an exact portrayal of what it is like to be teenager and the main character Charlie is one of my favorite characters of all time as he is so relatable ,realistic and raw .This books begins with Charlie grieving the loss of his friend and one of my favorite things about this book ,is the format .The format is like in the format of letters in which Charlie addresses you as his friend which makes this reading experience very personal. I would suggest the readers to check out for content warnings as this book discusses about abuse, suicide etc. The movie is as good as the book, so try to watch it!

3.The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

One of the reason , I picked up this book is because of the blurb which was mentioned on the back of the book and it goes like this “ This is the tale of the Book thief ,as narrated by Death .And when Death tells a story .You really have to listen.” Yes , the narrator of the book is Death and what more could I ask for ? This book is an historical fiction set in the time period of Nazi Germany .This book is an must read for everyone !

4.The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

Keep your tissues ready because this one will definitely make you cry ! This book will always have an special place in my heart because of the characters and the writing style . Khaled’s style of writing is simple but at the same time beautiful , while reading this book I felt like I was in Afghanistan and felt like I have been to Afghanistan but I haven’t but it was so realistic and beautiful .This book is set in 1970’s Afghanistan and the story revolves around Amir and Hassan , two friends .This book talks about friendship ,loyalty , morality etc . I would suggest everyone to check out the trigger warnings before reading this book ! I also recommend A Thousand Splendid Suns by this author , which is also an amazing read .

5.And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie

No list is complete without a classic Agatha christie novel. I have read many of her books but this is so far my favorite ,because this book is what you call an perfect crime novel. This book is unputdownable and keeps the readers on their toes throughout the book. This book is an must read for all the mystery thriller/crime lovers out there !

6.The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

This one is for the magical realism lovers !! Only one word comes to mind when I think about this book “ Magnificent ”.Its very hard to explain this book ,I think this book is something you should experience it for yourself. Like the title suggests this book is about a circus which comes without any warning or announcement and it only comes at night .But there is more to this story than that .There is magic ,love ,star crossed lovers and what not ! This is one of my all time favorites and there are only two types people when it comes to this book , you will either love it or hate it ! But I hope you enjoy and adore this book as much as I do 😉😊. I would also suggest the readers to check out The Diviner’s series by Libba Bray.

7.The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown

Dan Brown’s books are mandatory in every list because they are brilliant ,fascinating and they always make you think and question the things which you think you already know .I would suggest all of his books but this one made this list because this was the first book I read from his collection and so far this has been my favourite. This book was unputdownable and it was fascinating . This book made my heart race and it made me curious and question things .The plot twists in this book are mind blowing .This is a must read for all the people who love a good adventure !

8.Want To Play? by P.J. Tracy

I got this book in a used book store for 20 rupees and I would have never guessed it would turn to be one of my all time favourite thriller novel . This book is set in Minneapolis and just like other thriller/crime novels it starts with police finding two bodies. They think it is unrelated but the main character Grace knows they are related because the murders were exact copies of the game she is designing . A killer is killing people in the same pattern which is followed in the game. This book was unputdownable and it will make everyone sit on the edge of their seats throughout the book . I think this book is extremely underrated and I want more people to read this ! I would suggest the readers to look up for content warnings before reading.

9.Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz

How can I convince everyone to read this book ? where should I start ? I completed this book in a day and I was feeling sad because I couldn’t stay with the characters for a little more. I have never read a book which has such beautiful characters , writing etc. There is no specific plot ,its just a beautiful story about two boys Ari ( Aristotle ) and Dante. Saenz writing style is poetic and delightful, it just captivates the readers. This is a story which is raw and beautiful and it is about love ,friendship ,identity ,loyalty etc. This is a must read for everyone and I cant emphasize how much I want everyone to read this book .This book is pure magic ,I never thought a realistic fiction can be magical ! I would also suggest the readers to check out Simons Vs the HomoSapiens agenda, Red White and Royal blue , and Call me by your name !

10.Sadie by Courtney Summers

I picked this book because one of my favourite booktubers Hannah ( the clockwork reader ) suggested this and the one thing which really got my attention was the fact that half of the book is told in the format of an podcast and there is actually an podcast for this book in Spotify .So reading this book was an experience because I used to listen to the podcast and then read the book which made me feel like I was a character in the book trying to find what happened to Maddie ( Sadie’s sister ) who was found dead near a school in a small town. This is a story where a sister will go to any extent to find what happened to her younger sister. This book is YA thriller but it is more dark and raw for a YA thriller. I would suggest the readers to read the content warnings before reading this one! I would also suggest the readers to check out Sharp Objects , I’m thinking of ending things and Night Film !

Written by-

--

--

UmmulWaheedha
Youth Tamil Nadu

Hey Y’ all ! This is Ummul , a psychology student from Chennai, India.