Dear Virus

krithi
Youth’s Digest
Published in
3 min readSep 28, 2021

Some random person in some country ate something and now the entire world is washing their hands. Just because you wanted to travel this world, you asked us to stay home. You sound more selfish than I used to. And just with one sojourn, you are now that world famous personality. It feels like it was just yesterday you took birth. And all of a sudden, you grew up soo quick like no other creature ever grew. Were you actually bored to travel the world alone. May be ‘a yes’ that you introduced your new family members each and every day so that travelling around looks more enjoyable. Mission success. You are now that family tree growing-and-growing. All set? Here comes the “take off”. The rapid light years. You panicked us in the name of ‘symptoms’. You warned us unethical in the name of ‘social distance’. You accused us in the name of ‘lockdown’. You labelled the era in the name of ‘pandemic’. Areh yaar! I was busy doing my makeup. I never asked for a maskup. Literally unfair. Okay I agree you are that all-rounder. An engineer who turned my classroom and hostel into hospital. A hodophile – your love for travelling was witnessed. A legend in flipping oxygen- a natural substance into a coastable one.

Shaking hands with people was the most respected virtue that my parents taught me. And now you got me here greeting people with my elbows, legs and other possible ways where I also eventually ended up neglecting people soo deliberately.
I’ve almost turned into a chemical cleanser with the soaps, sanitizers, and disinfectants in and out.

Anxious, annoyed, disturbed, troubled.
Done with my boring routine.
Done with dad’s constant shout.
Done with mom’s new dishes.
Done with five seasons of money heist.
I see the world population count dripping down from what it was two years back in my school book.
A sudden drop down of 3 million people. Isn’t that too much?
It felt soo good to wake up late by 12 in the beginning. But now it doesn’t feel that way.
Sleeping was something that I loved the most. What if I hate sleeping if the lockdown extends.
Netflix was something that I craved for in my school days. But now binging to Netflix comes under one of my boring routine.
I get sick even before I start realising of what will be my next move. I even turn sick sometimes. Mom yells I was on my phone the whole night. No maa, I’m just sick of what’s next.

Dear virus,
You got me sick even without infecting me. I talk stuffs like a philosopher nowadays. Are you happy? Or do you still need some more evil to happen. We didn’t ask you to be in history nor in books. But you just turned out to be the most discussed hotty of this era. And you will be. For me it isn’t just a lockdown. But a slowdown, a breakdown, a meltdown, and a total upside down. Besides I’m just badly dreaming of dressing up to college someday soon. Because you know they say when you dream hard enough, some dreams will come true! And a pinch of thanks to you that I got my whole family home for a one whole year. The saddest of saddest is you visiting the loyal ones – our beloved pets.

Anyway Congrats, You’ve celebrated your first birth anniversary!

--

--