Me and the Pacific Ocean

krithi
3 min readJan 9, 2022

--

The shortest relationship ever is between students and books. They commit one day before exam and right after the exam they break up so easily.
Isn’t that weird to hear human brain is the most outstanding object in the world.
It functions 24 hours a day and 365 days in a world. It functions right from the time we are born and stops only when we enter the examination hall.
Let’s get into the point. When a person’s skin colour cannot display his or her personality, how do you expect a thirty piece of paper dictate a child’s intellect.
You can’t expect a fish to breathe in land or a child to explain the relationship between chemical equilibrium and thermodynamics.
Years worth of classes, nothing worthy that I’ve learnt. Laws and names of a hundred old men.
The pressure is inversely proportional to the number of days left for the exam where ‘I will study tomorrow' remains constant.

But I always had this two in mind.
1. Hoping I’ll never let my memory fail. Else they’ll award you those alphabets.
2. Hoping I’ll never fail. Because my mother prayed!
Then arrives the final day. Every cell of my heart screams a pray, within few hours, the story ends …a week of hard work diffuses in air.
Isn’t that how dumb the word problems are. They often are:
The problem : You have one dollar in your hand and if you’d asked your dad for one more dollar, then how many dollars dollar you have in total?
Le Me : One. You don’t know my dad.
But you know what actual excitement sounds like?
The seat allotment and seeing my best friend’s and my roll number in the same exam hall.
Okay here’s me, my paper and my pen in this Pacific Ocean.

All I remember I did throughout my school examination hours were:
1st one hour - Calligraphy
2nd one hour - Cursive writing
3rd one hour – Doctor writing

How does the board exam question papers turn unlucky only to me – Eye pop, mind block, full shock, pen drop, time up, no luck.
They say MCQ’S are soo easy. Aren’t they really ? They don’t appear that easy for me. rather choose essays over MCQ’S.
It’s 80kb in my brain, what I write in paper is only 80bytes, and yeah the results of course in binary digits. 01,10,10,11
Post pandemic exam scenarios and your head be like: That random tiktok, Winner winner chicken dinner, adjusting my masks a 869 times.
That awkward moment when I see the question paper and I’ve never seen those things in your life.

And then I gather my dumb guts to put ‘etc.’ in every end of my repeated sentences. And yes you know,
E - End of
T - Thinking
C - Capacity

Because they give me questions I don’t know and so I give them answers they don’t know.
If in case that I had unfortunately prepared for the exam,
80% of the questions is based on that 1 lecture I missed
and that 1 topic I didn’t prepare.
And the most proud moment in a student’s life is when you know nothing in an exam and the teacher says, “hide your answer sheet, the boy behind you is copying you.”
Okay but the exam pattern don’t sound like exams because it was then in the -

Year 2000 : Answer all questions
Year 2005 : Answer any five.
Year 2010 : Choose the correct one
Year 2015 : Write A or B
Year 2020 : Please read only the questions.
And now
Year 2022 : Thanks for coming!

“Hoping for the exams to be online one last time”

--

--