My bucket list of dreams

Ayman Sheriff
Youth’s Digest
Published in
4 min readMay 20, 2021

Hey!! Just think, what if you died unexpectedly tomorrow? What are the tasks you wish you could do before you pass away? If we don’t have goals and plans for our days, we’re likely to spend the majority of our time wrapped up in a whirlwind of daily activities. Even if we live by goals and to-do tasks, they are almost certainly portrayed in a social sense, such as success, career, or health. That’s a checklist of everything that you’ve always wished to do, huge or tiny, meaningful or unintentional. A bucket list serves as a reminder of what is most valuable to us so how we can take action. I strongly advise you to make a bucket list if you don’t have one already. You have a strong sense of what you want out of life. It’s a priceless deal. Look through my Wishlist to see if anything relates to you.

  • Surprising my parents with the tickets to hajj

The Hajj pilgrimage is breathtaking. It will undoubtedly be on any Muslim’s bucket list as one of the five pillars of Islam. I would love to see their cheerful expressions on there. I’m sure I’ll delight my parents with their hajj tickets one day. It’s a unique feeling to know that your parents are overjoyed simply because of you.

  • Travel all around the world

Travelling is an absolute way to know about new cultures, expand our mind, push ourselves outside of our comfort zone, make new friends, and see the world’s wonders.

  • Learn a new language

It’s never easy to learn a new language, but it’s so rewarding when you can communicate with somebody in another language! I respect multilingual people because I am only fluent in English, Tamil, and Urdu. I am able to read Arabic but not speak it. I’d like to learn a bunch of different languages.

  • Go scuba diving/snorkeling

We spend our entire lives on land as humans. However, there is a whole world under the waves that we are unaware of! Do you realise that the ocean covers 71% of the Earth’s surface? And did you know that the ocean holds 300 times the habitable number of terrestrial ecosystems on Earth due to its depth, and that many ocean organisms have yet to be discovered? Scuba diving and snorkelling allow you to get close and personal with aquatic life, as well as see, feel, and experience the vast ocean close and personal. One of my bucket list elements is scuba diving!

  • Go skiing

Skiing really is a fun activity because it allows you to float through the snow while managing your motor activity. It’s not easy or healthy, and beginners must take some lessons until undertaking to ski solo, but it is really worth a try. I’ve never done it before, but I’d like to try it out the next time I’m in the area.

  • Perform a kind deed without expecting anything in return

However, in order for every relationship to work, both giving and receiving must occur. If you’re always wondering why no one gives you what you want, try practising giving to others first. The rest will be taken care of itself.

“Every man dies — Not every man really lives.” – William Ross

--

--