The epitome of life: Empty Road.

Simrit Kaur Gill
4 min readAug 19, 2021

--

An ' empty road ' may sound dull, meaningless or void to many. With an effort of being thoughtful and creative I discovered an empty road is the actual epitome of one's life.

It's the beginning:

I was strolling alongside the traffic and pollution filled roads, where I saw people with worries, happiness, enthusiasm, despair and confusion plastered on their faces. In the desperate need to breathe some fresh air, I took a right turn which led me to this empty road. They weren't any cars, buildings, people or their emotions. This was rather a pleasing sight and rejuvenating for myself. When I visited that very same road again a few weeks later, there were 3 more people present. A month later I came across a few houses on that very road. 2 years later it reminded me of that traffic filled road I had once walked along. The empty road had developed, changed and turned into something similar to all those other roads.

When we come into this world for the first time, we are all just like that empty road. Without the understanding of words we are free from any troubles. A few years pass and we have friends in our lives. Then come the society's opinions and judgements. As we grow up we develop and change. With the passing years our responsibilities build up just like those buildings on that empty road. The traffic represents all the problems and situations we have to face as we develop as human beings.

Thus, an empty road is the beginning to one ride of a life.

Apply those filters:

There was such a beautiful sight infront of me, an empty road. In the distance I could see the sun setting. The sky looked breath-taking, making me stop to notice it. 
Standing there admiring the portrait-like view, with a little concentration and by squinting my eyes I noticed the cracks in the road, I saw the broken branches on the pathway, leaves in multiple colours laying here and there. To remember this very moment I took out my camera to click a memory. The picture I took looked different. All I could see were the beautiful aspects, the cracks were not visible nor were those leaves or branches that were originally spoiling the whole view of that empty road.

Our life is just like that empty road. It has its ups and downs. We have the option to choose between looking at it through the naked eye or through the lens of a camera. Applying those filters made the view all pleasant, making the unpleasant sights vanish. That's exactly what we can do with our lives. Accept those problems, troubles and mishaps but filter them out when you can. Look at the good aspects instead.

This optimistic thought can save you from unnecessary worries.

Unpredictable:

I set out on a journey walking on an empty road. There's nothing I can see infront of me except for a pathway. With no idea of where it will take me I continue walking. Through this journey, I come across a pretty butterfly that flies right past my face. A few minutes later, I step on a thorn that pricks my foot. I eventually find a bush whose leaves help me clean up that small wound. This journey seems interesting, it's unknown and unpredictable yet exciting.

Life is like that journey on an empty road. No one can predict what's gonna happen in the coming days. You may encounter opportunities and beautiful aspects like that butterfly or challenges and hardships like that thorn. Even with the knowledge of life being unsure, you keep going just like walking on that empty road. This uncertain nature of life is what makes it all the more thrilling and exhilarating.

Take that walk along the empty road.

--

--

Simrit Kaur Gill

Hey ! Do you ever feel like penning down anything & everything that comes to your mind ? Well we've got something in common, let's read each other's minds then!