"What do you want to become when you grow up?"

Simrit Kaur Gill
3 min readAug 18, 2021

--

This is one of the most common questions kids come across during their childhood. Their parents ask them, so do their teachers, friends and even a random stranger they accidentally bump into. 
The answer to this has always been a doctor, an engineer, a scientist, a racer, a teacher and so on. My answer to this question was a constant debate with myself. At the age of 4 I stated that I wanted to become an astronaut. At 10 I was determined to become a doctor. As a 15 year - old I was inspired to become a pilot. This was a never-ending circle until I just thought about the question in the simplest way. By ignoring the complicated professions, words, ideas and opinions that the society put on me, I realized the answer to that repeated question was within my surroundings: my inner circle of family, friends and the people I admired.

"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication."
 - Leonardo da Vinci.

This statement has a vast meaning to it. Simplicity is always easy to understand. It makes standing uncomplicated and effortless. Certainty, coherence and intelligibility are embodied in simplicity. Besides it could always be equated with the crystal clarity of water to understand what transparency and purity it holds. Simplicity remains thoroughly unpretentious. With inherent modesty, it never attempts to impress others and largely seems uninterested in assuming the estimation of abilities with any greater importance.

The word ‘ultimate’ has implications for all the elements of the entire human life. They could be anything from purpose, decision, value, evidence, development to consequences, success, end, downfall and actualization; as this word includes both the end of a process and what is basic or fundamental to it.

As stated, simplicity when applied to anything will make it sophisticated or even just easy and crystal clear.

After the application of simplicity to the same question I couldn't answer my entire childhood, I finally arrived at a conclusion.

What do you want to become?

"I want to become my grandmother's courage and discipline. I want to become my dad's intelligence and affection. I want to become my mom's determination, kindness and respect. I want to become my older sister's enthusiasm and loyalty. I want to become my younger sister's compassion and trust. I want to become my best friend's smile, and my other best friend's maturity. I want to become my favourite teacher's confidence and patience. I want to become my neighbour’s bright hello. I just want to be the simple yet wholesome love that I see in all these people."

This is simple to me as I am aware of its meaning and significance. Saying I want to become a doctor is a complication to me as I do not have the knowledge about it.

--

--

Simrit Kaur Gill

Hey ! Do you ever feel like penning down anything & everything that comes to your mind ? Well we've got something in common, let's read each other's minds then!