Shallyjeromia
Youth’s Digest
Published in
2 min readApr 10, 2021

--

What Scares me the most!!!

One day, Someone asked me, “What scares you the most?” I just started staring at them and said “The dark place”.

Once upon a midnight dreary, while I pondered,

weak and weary,

Over many a quaint and curious volume of

forgotten lore—

While I nodded, nearly napping, suddenly there

came a tapping,

As of someone gently rapping, rapping at my

chamber door.

The feeling of being vulnerable is the basis of fear. There is no way of knowing what might be just beyond what you can see. The light could refer to a natural or artificial thing. But for me, the dark is really associated with the black that throughout the night. Fear of darkness starts in childhood when evil and bad elements come out and play. My parents trained me to sleep in my own room since I got matured. I remember some nights when I had nightmares, and I would wake up feeling that I was only the person left in the world. I assumed to think like monsters to be hiding were in my closet, boogie men under my bed or creepers camped out in dimly-lit corners. My mind always creates all types of scary scenarios that are probably scarier than what is actually hiding in the dark. The most interesting thing that I have experienced and noticed about the dark is that it changes its mood in different settings. Being in the dark, alone, without any other distractions causes our minds to wander to places that we were quite possibly trying to ignore.

I think that my fear of the dark is diminishing slowly but for now, I’m still scared of the dark and I’m not afraid to admit it. I hope that I will one day get rid of this fear because I don’t want to live with this fear for the rest of my life.

“There is nothing to fear, but fear itself, and the only way to overcome fear is to confront it.”

--

--