What would I do if I were the last person on the Earth?

Simrit Kaur Gill
3 min readJul 9, 2021

--

An occasion of freedom:

Human beings are naturally inherited with various traits. Of these numerous possible characteristics, a few aren't as enchanting and satisfying as the others. To be able to portray a good trait such as honesty, kindness, respectfulness and humility or a bad trait such as arrogance, anger, insecurity and possessiveness it is a prerequisite that there be two people present.

A day where only I will be alive out of all the billions of people on this planet would be an auspicious event of utmost freedom. It will be a day where there will be no need for me to care or be scared. A day where I won't have the need to depict those traits.

The freedom:

*From the pressure of trying to impress everyone I meet and greet.

* From the fear of people’s judgement and opinions about me.

* From the insecure feeling of how I look. I would let my hair be without braids and my face bare adorned with all its lovely imperfections.

* To choose what I wear and dress according to my wish. I would wear the most comfortable pyjamas with a pair of flip flops and visit the White House.

*From the constant instructions and nagging I had to listen to everyday.

* To roam on the streets at midnight and walk in the dark without the need to look back due to the fear of the possibility of someone kidnapping or rapping me.

With no one around to judge me, taunt me or tease me I will be at ease. I would stuff my face with all those pastries and pizzas without any hesitation.

I would put the speakers on its highest volume and dance to BTS with all my might. I would dive into the sea and take a long swim.

I would roll down the hills and laugh till my stomach hurts. I would enjoy the rain pouring down on me instead of rushing inside. I would stand right in the middle of the highway and scream on the top of my lungs.

I would jump over trucks and buses and do some summersaults too. I would walk on the Great wall of China. I would sit on the throne of the queen of England. I would sing aloud on the stage of the Grammy awards. I would put on a show for the empty Tokyo Dome.

I would do all that I couldn't do only because I was afraid of what people would say.

I would finally beat my reserved and apprehensive self.

_______________________________

--

--

Simrit Kaur Gill

Hey ! Do you ever feel like penning down anything & everything that comes to your mind ? Well we've got something in common, let's read each other's minds then!