Meet the YSYS Scholars Gearing Up for Graduation: Google UX Design Certificate

YSYS
YSYS
Published in
6 min readSep 26, 2023

--

About the Google UX Design Scholarship, from YSYS

The partnership between YSYS and Google aims to support our scholars through the UX Design certificate with the tools, mentoring and resources they need to thrive. As we approach the finish line, with just six weeks remaining, our scholars have successfully studied a comprehensive syllabus, tackling key topics such as user testing, design prototypes, and wireframing. To help our scholars along, YSYS provides the cohort with professional mentors, regular office hours and opportunities for development work with real-world companies. Designed with inclusivity at its core, the program aims to act as a springboard for people from diverse professional and cultural backgrounds to enter the world of tech.

Meet our soon-to-be graduates: Akeem, Ramatu, Lia, Jasmine and Filip. As we get closer to the programme’s close, we wanted to spotlight five of our standout cohort members, who are also a great representation of the community we choose to foster at YSYS. You’ll read about the people who are shaping the future of tech: their ideas, motivations, and ambitions.

Akeem

Previous Occupation: Senior Business Engagement Coordinator

How are you finding the programme so far?

“It’s been very insightful, so much knowledge has been gained throughout the process. It’s shown me that there is so much work that goes into product design and UX. I love the community that is slowly being built… and great to rely on fellow scholars for advice or just a general catch-up.”

“My experience has exceeded my expectations in every way. I have access to a UX professional who acts as my mentor. Alongside that, we have weekly stand-ups and access to bespoke events and exclusive talks from tech leads”

What initially sparked your interest in UX Design?

“UX Design brings together my passion for social impact and inclusion, and my career purpose for using tech for social good. In the near future, I’d like to spearhead UX design for inclusive and beneficial products for the most marginalised in society!”

Follow Akeem on LinkedIn

Ramatu

Occupation: Registered Nutritionist (RNutr)

How has your background influenced your interest in UX Design?

“With a background in healthcare as a Registered Nutritionist (RNutr), I’ve always been interested in understanding people, starting from their building blocks: food.

I first became interested in UX design when creating an online Allergy Management System for a work project.

“In this project, my team and I formed part of the research stage to help the developers. With an understanding into what was actually required for the Allergy System, I became passionate about advocating for individuals in general. I realised that there was a real need for UX designers in pretty much everything.”

“I also loved the fact that UX/UI design was all about being intentional, e.g. “why are we including this button” or “why are we using these colours?”[It’s] a profession which gives you the possibilities of many more professions (researcher, writer, designer, etc.) whilst still staying within your field.”

What are you enjoying most about the programme?

“I am absolutely loving the programme. My favourite parts of the programme have been the mentoring sessions, office hours, and learning days that YSYS have organised for scholars. I think that’s what sets this programme apart from any others I have come across.”

Follow Ramatu on LinkedIn!

Lia

Occupation: Teacher

Why did you decide to make the career switch from teaching to UX design?

“In my previous role as a teacher, one core principle always guided my path: inclusivity… My own experience with dyslexia reinforced the importance of accessibility in education. I realised that in the digital age, fostering inclusivity wasn’t limited to the classroom; it extended to the digital realm. My journey was no longer confined to the walls of a school but extended into the vast landscape of digital experiences, where I could make a difference in people’s lives by crafting user-friendly interfaces and accessible digital content.”

What’s been the most memorable experience for you in this programme?

The onboarding day at Google HQ. Stepping into the iconic tech giant’s headquarters was a surreal experience, and it marked a significant milestone in my pursuit of excellence in UX Design.”

Follow Lia on LinkedIn!

Jasmine

Occupation: English teacher, Food and Product Photographer, Social Media Manager

What motivated you to transition into UX Design?

“I noticed that all the professions I had prepared me for my UX design journey. I got valuable experiences from all of them that I can easily transfer to UX design.”

  • English Teacher: “What does a teacher do all day every day? Empathise with students, design a lesson, test it in the class, understand students’ challenges and pain points, iterate on the lesson and test again.”
  • MA English Language Teaching: “I conducted case studies with students and teachers, collected qualitative and quantitative data and analysed them.”
  • Photographer: “I Created compositions paying attention to alignment, colour combinations, the rule of thirds, and the rule of odds”
  • Social Media Manager: “I learned about branding, competitive audits, and brand positioning”

How are you finding the pace and structure of the programme?

“The pace of the programme is quite personal but obviously, there are some deadlines. Those deadlines make us manage time better and complete the programme on time. Personally, I try to do something every day, even if it is just 10 minutes. I aim to complete the programme earlier than expected.”

Follow Jasmine on LinkedIn!

Filip

Previous Occupation: Veterinary Medicine

What’s your goal in this programme?

“My goal is to transition from a background in veterinary medicine to the realm of UX design, driven by a passion to create meaningful change within our community through innovative design solutions.”

What aspect do you find particularly rewarding?

“One aspect I find particularly rewarding is the ability to apply the newfound knowledge by working on my own project within the course. Currently, I’m immersed in developing a social media app tailored for aspiring and seasoned artists and studios. This project allows me to put theory into practice and contribute to the creative community in a meaningful way.”

Follow Filip on LinkedIn!

We’re super excited to see the cohort leaning into the YSYS ethos: passion, inclusion and most importantly, community. As we move closer to the end of the programme, we’re ready to see how these scholars and the rest of the cohort will contribute to the future of the industry.

For updates on the progress of this group, the rest of the cohort, and all things YSYS, follow us: LinkedIn, Twitter/X and Instagram!

--

--