The Busy Life

Bernard Bannor
YSYS
Published in
3 min readJun 28, 2017

As an entrepreneur, graphic designer and student; I have at times, quickly found myself in stressful situations.

What to do next?

What to prioritise?

Do I have enough time?

These are the thoughts that run through my head during these stressful situations and honestly, it can really impact your personal performance during the day. I had to do something about it.

So, here are a few tips on how to keep yourself relaxed and organised even with so much responsibility!

Google Calendar

A life-saver!

Even though it sounds so simple, it is so effective.

What I love about using Google Calendar is how neatly it works in conjunction with ‘Inbox’. For example, you have purchased a ticket for a networking event, immediately Google Calendar will save this event on your calendar with all the key details that you would require for the event — it even provides a notification feature that you can manually set-up, this is great because when you are so busy, you can occasionally become forgetful.

In summary: It really just puts your life in a greater perspective — in a fast-pace working environment, it is key that you are well organised.

Sticky Notes

Digital or Physical

Sticky notes are so helpful, with regards to making sure that you are maximising your day and that you are not forgetting any important tasks. I personally use a sticky note app, which I downloaded from the Windows Store on my laptop.

On a daily basis, I use these digital sticky notes to keep on track with what I am supposed to be currently focusing on and what I should prioritise.

Sticky notes come in a range of colours — you can utilise this via using a key.

For example:

Purple = Business related

Orange = Education

Green = General notes

The Bible

As you know, I am a Christian and for me, I cannot and I repeat …

Cannot

Cope without not reading it everyday. There are so many verses in the Bible that reaffirm on a daily basis that we do not need to rely on our own physical strength but we can lean on the strength of the Lord because of how much he loves us. For me, I have personally experienced so much peace and joy, through reading the word of God because it consistently reminds me that I am not doing this by myself. I find myself constantly doing so many things that would not be possible without the strength and guidance of God!

Here are two verses from the Bible, that has given me the strength and peace of mind to operate in such a busy fast-paced environment, especially living in a city like London!

Psalm 29:11 NLT

“The Lord gives his people strength. The Lord blesses them with peace.”

Isaiah 40:29 NLT

“He gives power to the weak and strength to the powerless.”

Delegation

There are people all around us that can give us a helping hand, especially if you are running a business! Do not overwhelm yourself with a heavy workload, this can seriously harm the quality of your work. Delegate various roles and jobs across your team or if necessary recruit more individuals to reduce the weight on your shoulders.

I hope these tips have helped and remember to always take breaks as well!

Till next time.

--

--