GLUTEN free muffins: Oatmeal and Chocolate

Yum Deliveries
yum kenya blog
Published in
3 min readSep 19, 2016

So I’ve been looking into cutting down on my wheat intake. I’m not going full gluten free or anything, but I do want to cut down of those wheat carbs. So having some tasty gluten free snacks are gonna go a long way to keeping me focused on clean carbs.

To this end, I’m trying to use potato flour and oats in pancakes, cookies and muffins. Now all these sound like they would be unhealthy options but with a few adjustments, I think I can make these healthy enough to still indulge and at the same time lose some kgs.

Eating clean doesn’t have to be boring.

Today I’m doing a muffin. Now .sure this would have fewer calories if you take out the chocolate but just because I’m on a fitness-eatclean-workout lifestyle shift, doesn’t mean that I lost my taste buds. And even with the dark chocolate, these damn delicious bomb ass muffins are just about 50 calories a muffins. Can we say winning.

Lets get to it.

Ingredients:

glutten free oatmeal and chocolate muffins Ingredients

You will need:
2 cups of Oatmeal
2 eggs
I bar of dark chocolate
2 Tbs of baking powder
1 tsp of baking soda
1 Tbs of vanilla
2 bananas
2 Tbs of thick yoghurt.

– The yoghurt will help with making the cupcakes nice and moist

Making this is pretty simple. But everything in your blender except for the chocolate and blend until it turns into a smooth texture.

You can add your chopped chocolate after and then pour with a table spoon into your cupcake holders.

image
image

I used some silicon moulds and also normal muffin paper cups.

Now bake these for about 5 minutes at 200c then lower it to 185 for another 5. The initial high temp helps to rise the muffins quickly so that you can have a nice peak. You then lower the temp so that they don’t burn. If like mine your oven runs a little hot, make sure to keep an eye on your muffins as they may bake quicker.

I baked about 20 of these and they lasted me a whole week. My level of discipline is on an all time high coz I’m pretty sure a dew years ago o would have had all these in about 2 days.

image

How perfect does that muffin look. At it’s nice and melted with chocolate in the middle

glutten free oatmeal and chocolate muffins final

Store these with some paper towels in am airtight container and keep refrigerated.

I’m reposting this from MY BLOG. You can read the original post HERE

--

--

Yum Deliveries
yum kenya blog

Yum is Nairobi’s premier food delivery service. Order directly from the menu online and have your favorite restaurants delivered to your door.