5 Things I Learned During Junior Year

Claire C
YUNiversity Interns
3 min readJun 20, 2015

--

The school year is almost over (for me) and already over for most. I guess this is a reflection — of some sorts — of my year. Things I learned. Things I wish I knew. Things I’ll keep in mind in the future. And maybe some advice for incoming juniors.

1. Take every single opportunity that comes along.

I know it seems obvious, but there are many factors that may cause you to turn opportunities away. Fear. Guilt. Stress. It doesn’t matter. No matter how unqualified you think you are, take any and every opportunity that comes along (that you want or are even slightly hesitant about). It doesn’t matter if you have only been a member of the club for a year; still apply to be treasurer if you want to. There is always the possibility that you will actually get the position, and even if you don’t, there are people who appreciate your effort.

It’s okay if you have so many projects and tests coming up that week; if you want to go for the volunteer this weekend, go. Your experiences will always be worth more than a test grade. You don’t want to end the year thinking, I could have done that …

2. Do what makes you comfortable.

There are going to be people who laugh at you. Because of how you dress. Because you drink overpriced coffee every morning. Because you spent all night working for a small grade. But that’s okay. If it makes you feel better about yourself, do it. If you think it’s worth it, do it. There are always going to be people who laugh at you. Don’t mind them, because when it matters, they’ll be jealous of you. Do you.

3. If you’re going to college, start thinking about your story and how you want to be seen. Start early.

Doing so will be helpful in writing your college essays. Actually, this is a piece of advice for everyone. Even if you won’t be applying to college, thinking about your identity and self will help you learn more about yourself, which is always a good thing. There’s going to be so much life for you to pursue.

4. Keep a journal/planner.

Staying organised is important. There’s going to be a shit-ton of things to do. And small assignments and plans just slip out of your mind. Plus, having something to document your progress and your accomplishments, no matter how minor, can only be beneficial. Looking through your crossed out tasks also make you feel better. This will be a good practice to stay on top of things during college application season and living an adult life in general (or so I’ve heard).

5. You don’t NEED to be needed.

This is, in my opinion, the most important point on this list. I have always felt lonely, I guess, without a best friend or someone to tell every single thing to. When everyone else seems to not share my troubles, I thought there was something wrong with me until I read this post; afterward, I felt relieved. Also, I was talking to a friend about feeling like this, and she helped me come to terms with everything.

It’s okay if you don’t have a best friend to always talk to; it’s all right to feel alone. Everyone needs to learn how to live alone, and best friends and relationships are soulmates. They’re one in a million, and you can’t force them. You may not be needed, but someone out there is ecstatic that you are here.

--

--