The culture of self-deprecation and superficial humility

Because we’re not allowed to feel proud of ourselves.

Cherie Chu
YUNiversity Interns
2 min readFeb 1, 2016

--

Photo via A Different Drum Beat

I can’t be the only one who feels that I have to be super careful about everything that comes out of my mouth. It doesn’t matter if I’m talking about myself, other people, or the person I’m talking to. I have an undying fear that everything I say has the potential to offend someone.

Is it my fault? Perhaps. Or is it the world’s fault? Again, perhaps.

I am entitled to my own opinion, and you yours. But sometimes society makes is seem as though our views on something are valid only if other people agree, or if it makes whomever you’re talking to feel better than you should yourself.

In other words, I am only allowed to compliment others and bag on myself, even if I don’t truly mean the words that I say. But everything has to be at a delicate balance, though. Be too nice, and I’m fake; insult myself a little too much, and I’m attention-seeking.

It’s hard to make everyone happy, because no matter what you say — whether it’s that you support Donald Trump (I sure hope you don’t) or that you love puppies — someone out there will be butthurt.

So it’s better to please yourself.

If you’re liking your appearance today, show it off instead of dismissing every comment. If you’re proud of how you did on your test, reward yourself for studying hard instead of attributing your score to luck. God damn it, love yourself for who you are: your perfections, your imperfections, and everything in between. You deserve it, even if no one else thinks so.

Don’t be afraid to speak your mind. If people ask for your input, give it. If something’s wrong, tell them without being a dick about it. If they were looking for mindless flattery, well … they should have asked someone else.

Life’s too short to care about what everyone thinks of you.

--

--

Cherie Chu
YUNiversity Interns

Writing intern for The YUNiversity. professional crastinator and dog enthusiast.