The Perplexing Tale of Words

Ziara Bajar
YUNiversity Interns
1 min readApr 14, 2016

Why are there times when
My lips make no sound;
My eyes just tear up?
No words can be found

Why do they have to be lost?
In moments so dear
When they’re all that could save you,
Yet what surrounds you is fear

Would things even change,
If I spoke a few?
If you did, what would happen
Between me and you?

Why are there times when
My mouth won’t just shut?
My ears all could hear,
The noise above the crowd

Why do they have to be here,
In moments of suffocation?
When all you want is to be free
From this world of confusion

Would things be any different,
If you stop for a while,
To befriend the silence
And just sit by my side?

Why are there times when
Words come and go?
Words touch my lips when I’d rather not
Words disappear when I need it the most.

--

--