WhatImHereFor | o6 Tierra Whack

yun corey chan
YUN/LIFE
Published in
2 min readNov 16, 2018

This is where I pick one thing I’m here for.

What’s crackin’ in my life? What’s chill? What’s dope? What’s good? All of that and more embodies what I’m here for.

Honestly, life is wack sometimes, and it’s nice to have one little glowing light in this dim ass void that we’re all just tryna slang through. Clawing through this darkness.

So without further ado, this week I am here for:

Tierra Whack’s visual album, Whack World

While it came in May, I didn’t get a chance to see it until now. My life had been deprived and I didn’t even know it.

The artistry that Tierra Whack displays in her visual album, Whack World is simply amazing. It seriously gave me some Missy Elliott music video level vibes, with some magical Janelle Monae sprinkles dusted all over the place. Damn it was legit!

Photo sourced from her pitchfork article, that can be found here.

The visual album, as well as the music album is comprised to 15 1 minute snippets of her songs and as the songs switch, the aesthetic and the settings change within the video. I am hoping to god she comes out with a full album cuz honestly each one of songs can get it! At first, I didn’t know how to feel about the 15 minute album and it being only 1 minute long songs, but after like the 4th song or so I was like “Nope, she a genius,” and then midway through the 9th song I was like “Nope, this is not just a like video, let me just….favorited.”

I honestly can’t even pick a favorite snippet because the whole thing is some next level shit. Maybe the tracks Bug’s Life, F*** Off and Dr. Seuss and Waze are tied with Hookers and Hungry Hippo being my favorite songs sonically.

I can’t believe I’m only seeing/listening to this now. The hell have I been doing?

Please please carve out 15 minutes of your day and check it out!!! And since you’re at it. You should check out her video for her song, Mumbo Jumbo. This one effed me up, her videos are phoenix level fire!

Warning: If you’re easily squeamish, this ones not too bad but it might get you regardless. Especially if you’re squeamish with teeth.

And as always, thank you so much for reading my feels! I would love to listen to your thoughts in the comments. What are some of your favorite music videos? Be it artistic or not, long live the music videos! Let’s all just try to vibe on another level shall we?

--

--

yun corey chan
YUN/LIFE

aabbc (agender american bisexual born chinese) archivist of good vibes. ramblings and poetry intersect here [ ] let’s inspire and be inspired!