WhatImHereFor | o5 6lack

yun corey chan
YUN/LIFE
Published in
2 min readOct 11, 2018

This is where I pick one thing I’m here for.

What’s crackin’ in my life? What’s chill? What’s dope? What’s good? All of that and more embodies what I’m here for.

Honestly, life is wack sometimes, and it’s nice to have one little glowing light in this dim ass void that we’re all just tryna slang through. Clawing through this darkness.

So without further ado, this week I am here for:

6lack’s second album, East Atlanta Love Letter

Image sourced from here.

Hahah so to be fair, I’ve been bumpin to this album for a few weeks now and am just getting to writing about it. BUT 6LAAAAAAAACCCKKKKK!!!! >_< SOO GOOD!!! 6lack is honestly the one of the most underrated artist right now. His first album, Free 6lack was already dope and made me an instant fan for life and you know how there’s always that anxiousness when a music artist you love comes out with their sophomore album and you’re afraid they won’t deliver. But thank GAWD 6lack came through with this 2nd album. I’ve been waiting all year to get into this very specific vibe!

Favorite Tracks:
- Pretty Little Fears ft. J Cole (GAAAH THIS SONG!!)
- Thugger’s Interlude (everytime this comes on in my car it makes me wanna cry T_T)
- Scripture
- Disconnect
- Stan
- Nonchalant
- Switch

Pretty much the whole album if I’m being honest. It’s just such a solid project!

Favorite Lyrics:

Say it loud, say it proud, you want it more/ We open door, hit the couch, then the floor/ I cut it up, like a scissor, love galore/ She never bored, there’s so much shit we can do
— off the track Pretty Little Fears

Lately I’ve been bumpin’ trap music/ Don’t wanna listen if I can’t dab to it/ Cause all the other shit makes me think about/ All the things I don’t wanna think about
— off the track Thugger’s Interlude

I had the luck of watching him perform at Beychella this year and god this man can put on a show! It was crazy because he was given one of the smaller stages but he was able to do so much with it and his raps kill, his songs kill, the whole experience just blew me away because he has such a presence of a star, yet they put him in the tiny stage. HE KILLED IT ON THAT STAAAGGEE!

So if you haven’t listened to his music yet, please please please treat yourself and check him out!

COLORS is also one of my favorite youtube channels and their Color Show always has the chillest artists performing.

And as always, thank you so much for reading my feels! I would love to listen to your thoughts in the comments. Let’s all just try to vibe on another level shall we?

--

--

yun corey chan
YUN/LIFE

aabbc (agender american bisexual born chinese) archivist of good vibes. ramblings and poetry intersect here [ ] let’s inspire and be inspired!