Au Revoir: Mr. Frakes, In Our Words

Colleagues, students, and friends share their reflections.

Odyssey Editors
The Odyssey
15 min readFeb 23, 2019

--

The sun sets beyond the Eiffel Tower. Photo by Henrique Ferreira on Flickr.

The Yucca Valley High School family suffered a tragic loss this past week. As part of our continuing tribute to foreign languages teacher Mr. John Frakes, we’d like to present the following messages, which represent just a small portion of the memories, stories, and thoughts being shared online and in person this week by those who knew him.

Jen Jungwirth, World Languages

“I traveled to France with Frakes and a variety of students. He always said he was training me, so he could hand it off and start traveling without students. Oh, the adventures we had! It was awesome to see students grow before our eyes in a different culture.

He was also my early morning partner in crime. We would get to school around 5:30 a.m., so we could be ready to start the day before students started to arrive. I remember when I first moved out here from Wisconsin, he would invite me down to Palm Springs on Thursday, and we would hit up the street fair. Even though I never said it, I was homesick, and he could just tell. It was amazing to get to know him outside of school.”

Vianne Militar, Class of 2019

“Mr. Frakes always used to joke that he’d “graduate” with me because he loved my class, but I knew he loved all his students equally. My favorite memories include him giving me two pages of beautiful French films he swore would make me cry, and talking about my favorite international films with him. We planned a brunch for when we’d graduate, but he’d tell me that no croque-monsieur would ever compare to those in Paris, which was a trip he would have loved to have with us. When I was “embarrassed” of my ethnicity, he taught me how beautiful it was to have different traditions and languages, and how it added art to the world. I was just thankful for all the art he spread.”

Whenever I listen to “La Vie En Rose,” whenever I read The Little Prince, whenever I stop for a moment to look back on my life, I will think of how incredibly lucky I was to know you.

Emma Sanchez, Class of 2021

“Monsieur, I was so excited to see you again and tell you every single thing you missed when we had our substitutes. I was excited to show you that I cut my hair, excited to tell you which Edith Piaf song I was obsessed with at the moment, excited to ask if I could sing the new French song I learned in class. It still hasn’t sunk in that I won’t get to see you again or hug you again or say thank you for all the good you brought to my life and all the kindness you showed me. I miss you so much already, and I honestly have no idea how I’m going to get through high school without you. You’re the kindest, funniest, wisest, and most knowledgeable person I’ve ever known, and it hurts so much to lose you so soon.

Since I didn’t have the chance to say it in person, thank you for everything. Thank you for transforming a classroom into a safe, loving space for me and for everyone who had the pleasure of knowing you. Without you, I wouldn’t know Edith Piaf or Yves Montand. Without you, I wouldn’t know my best friend, Karlie, as well as I luckily do now. Without you, I wouldn’t have my passion and love for anything and everything French. But most of all, thank you for showing me how to be the best person I can be. I aspire to be as good and as giving and as kind as you always were. I will never forget or take for granted the impact you had on my life. Whenever I listen to “La Vie En Rose,” whenever I read The Little Prince, whenever I just stop for a moment to look back on my life, I will think of you, and how incredibly lucky I was to know you.”

Left, Mr. Frakes in his first YVHS yearbook photo. Right, “Our new foreign language teacher, Mr. John Frakes, is taking a break.” Photos courtesy Ilion, 1989.

Cindy Zacks, Science

“John and I taught here together for twenty-six years. We were young teachers together, middle-aged teachers together, and heading toward being older teachers together. He was a mentor, philosopher, confidant, and friend. We shared a love for farming and agriculture. I remember how excited he was when we built the school garden. John was a stabilizing force for our school. He had big shoulders that helped carry us through lots of changes. Everything he did, he did with a smile and grace. I miss him terribly; our school has lost our rock star. He loved us all.”

Mr. Frakes managed to have the same impact on every student he taught, he inspired, and he cared for.

Anonymous, Class of 2019

“Mr. Frakes was one of my favorite teachers. He didn’t just teach about language; he taught about the importance of culture and the effect culture has on everyone. He truly cared about the welfare of his students. I remember a time when he brought up the importance of geography, saying that very few of us knew the countries of Europe, but we should at least know the states. When a student could not point to Arkansas, we did a lesson on the geography of the United States. He’s one of the few teachers that I’ve ever had that every single student loved. Many teachers have different impacts on various students, but Mr. Frakes managed to have the same impact on every student he taught, he inspired, and he cared for.”

His incredible patience, his impressive depth of knowledge, and his passion to impart that knowledge were all inspiring virtues to interact with daily.

Jody Rich-Ramirez, Class of 2001

“I consider myself incredibly fortunate to have had Mr. Frakes for all four years of high school. I was in his very first French 4 class, and in fact, Mr. Frakes arranged for me to privately tutor a woman in French during my junior year, which was my very first job. I remember distinctly what a boost it was to my admittedly lacking teenaged self-confidence that Mr. Frakes thought I had a strong enough handle of the language to even try teaching it to someone else, and I ended up teaching that woman twice a week for almost two years.

Of the many teachers I’ve had in my life, there isn’t another that stands out in my mind the way Mr. Frakes does. His incredible patience, his impressive depth of knowledge, and his passion to impart that knowledge were all such inspiring virtues to interact with daily, and I seriously considered being a French teacher myself at one point. His impact on everyone around him was clear and undeniable, which was obvious with all of those names written on his lectern. I was touched to find my name still legible, now tangled with hundreds of new names, when I visited the classroom on Back to School Night a few years ago with my daughter. In my memory, his dedication feels unmatched and his influence matchless. I am truly thankful to have had the opportunity to have been taught by him, and to have been able to spend that time around a genuinely remarkable human being.

My French name was Octavie.”

Jacklyn Krumwiede (aka Warfield), Class of 1997

“Mr. Frakes was an amazing teacher. I had the pleasure of being a student in Mr. Frakes’ French class all 4 years, 1993–1997, and a TA for Mr. Frakes my senior year. I remember being so nervous on my first day in his class. I was a scared freshman, and this teacher wasn’t speaking any English. The students were staring at each other, trying to figure out what he was saying. The entire class period, he only spoke French, and he would do these hand gestures to try and help us out. It continued like that for four years. He tried to immerse us in his world, and it worked. I was mesmerized with his teaching methods. I was supposed to attend France on his student trip, but I had the opportunity to go to France through cheerleading instead. It was amazing to see all of his teaching skills pay off. I was able to navigate my way around France when my group got lost. Thank God for a great teacher. Mr. Frakes was known to my French class as Monsieur Bon Bon. I don’t know where we got that nickname, but it stuck.

Throughout my four years of knowing Mr. Frakes, I enjoyed every class. He was so knowledgeable and full of passion for his job. He was one of my most influential teachers throughout high school, and I am so sad to hear of his passing. YVHS won’t be the same without him.”

Anonymous, Class of 2019

“Mr. Frakes was the best teacher I ever had. I remember the first day of freshman year when I walked into his class. He told me that my high school years were going to fly by. Looking back now that I am a senior, they did. Mr. Frakes taught me more than just French in the three years that he was my teacher. He was kind and cared about his students so much. He will be missed greatly by students and everyone that knew him.”

Junior Sierra Rogers and Mr. Frakes pose near the whiteboard. Photo courtesy Instagram, Sierra Rogers.

Sierra Rogers, Class of 2020

“Au revoir, Mr. Frakes, you were and always will be the most influential and amazing person I’ve ever known. The kindness in your heart reached everyone, including the staff, your students, and kids that never had you as their teacher but had the privilege to meet and connect with you. You were and always will be my number one person who impacted my life like no other person has. You taught me to find my passion, French, and [inspired] my love for languages and cultures, life lessons, and to just to sit back and laugh. Je t’aime et tu me manque, Monsieur Frakes.”

He was a true sage; not only an amazing teacher to his students but to fellow teachers as well.

Abbey Sarver, Visual and Performing Arts

“I started eating lunch with Mr. Frakes when I was substitute teaching last year, and through my first year of teaching here. He helped me get through a difficult time with sincere support, humor, and wise advice. He was a true sage; not only an amazing teacher to his students but to fellow teachers as well. I will miss him every day but will try my best to keep his graceful and generous spirit alive as I continue to teach at YVHS.”

Andrew Gamboa, Class of 2019

“I remember my first day of freshman year, walking into V-3. You immediately began speaking in nothing but French. I was terrified. You quickly became not only one of my favorite teachers but a friend. I wish I had stuck with French. Even without having you as a teacher, we still kept a connection because I would stop by your room from time to time, and we would just have conversations about life. You will forever be missed. Rest in peace, Mr. Frakes. Au revoir.”

He truly loved teaching, and it showed with the passion he put into it.

Kyler Harlow, Class of 2019

“Mr. Frakes was one of the kindest souls on this campus. He was always so patient with students and was always tolerant with people who joked around. He truly loved teaching, and it showed with the passion he put into it. Mr. Frakes never had anything bad to say about anyone and was often the one to shed light on a difficult situation. Teachers and students alike loved him and will miss him dearly.”

Kylie (Chi) Llewellyn, Class of 2020

“To me, Monsieur Frakes was more than a teacher. I think he might have been my favorite person in the whole world, because he just “got” me. I think a lot of people feel that way, too.

Junior Chi Llewellyn and Mr. Frakes pose at his desk. Photo courtesy Chi Llewellyn.

A few weeks ago, he gifted me a few French books on classical music, as well as some of his college textbooks from when he lived in France. I’m so beyond grateful for those precious gifts, and I will keep them forever. Monsieur Frakes impacted my life and everything in my future. He always told me “one day I’ll see you on TV!” and always made me promise to send him tickets to my first Broadway performance. He encouraged me to fully embark on my career of dance, and to go to Cal State Fullerton for a dance major. He truly believed, and hopefully he still does, that I am capable of so much more in this life than I once thought. When I told him I got a job at my dance studio teaching little kids, he was so happy and told me that the gift of teaching is one that I should never take for granted. Watching the love he had for teaching, I knew he believed that. He did what he loved every day until he could no longer.

I think he might have been my favorite person in the whole world, because he just “got” me.

First, Monsieur, thank you so much for everything. You have shaped me in ways that I can’t even comprehend now but am so grateful for. Thank you for being a mentor, a friend, and a father figure. I hope you know how much you mean to me, and how much I miss you. I promise I’ll go to CSUF, take French in college, and make it on Broadway — as long as you’re there to watch me. I know you can from wherever you are. Thank you so much for instilling passion, drive, and an amazing work ethic into my life. Thank you for teaching me more than anyone that grief is the price of love. Tu me manques, je vous aimerai pour toujours. Merci beaucoup, pour tout.

Finally, the last piece of advice M. Frakes gave my tiny French 3&4 class was this: “Live hard. When there are opportunities, take them. Travel, learn, get cultured. It’s worth it.”

“Mrs. Maureen DaShiell gives Mr. John Frakes a big smooch.” Photo courtesy Ilion, 1995.

Mikayla Nadeau, Class of 2019

“Monsieur Frakes meant the absolute world to me. He was my safe haven, the person I went to about everything and could full-heartedly trust. Every year on my birthday he would track me down with a sticker that said “J’ai __ ans” and sing “Bon Anniversaire” to me at the top of his lungs. My favorite part each time was when he dragged out the last word and shook his face all funny.

He was the definition behind the word “man.” He was kind, funny, generous, and understanding. Every day we shared Altoids together. My family adores him as well. He had three generations of my family in his class. Three generations of the Nadeau name signed on his podium. He was incredible friends with my grandmother (who speaks French dominantly) as well. I used to call her from class so they could chat over the phone. Monsieur Frakes was a secondary father figure to me and I loved him as so. I will forever have him in my heart.”

Aurora Valdes, Class of 2019

“Mr. Frakes was one of the most genuine teachers on this campus. During my sophomore and junior years, I would walk in the mornings and he would say good morning to me almost every day. It meant a lot, honestly.”

Vanessa Reyes, Class of 2019

“Mr. Frakes was the best teacher. I never had him as one, but he said good morning to me every day. Every conversation we had, he would speak in French because he knew I did not understand a word, except for “oui” and “bonjour.” He was such an amazing man. Thank you, Mr. Frakes, for always making my morning.”

It was impossible to have a bad day around him.

Ish Patel, Class of 2019

“At the beginning of this school year, I was confused about what major I would select or what I would do [after graduation]. After school one day, he helped me look at colleges, pick my path, and he wrote me the best letter of recommendation. He also picked on me to do the work in front of class whenever I didn’t know the answer and just laughed while I struggled. He would always have a smile and be positive. It was impossible to have a bad day around him.”

Ashley Griswold, Class of 2019

“Mr. Frakes was so much more than an amazing language teacher. Every time I saw him around school, he was always welcoming and simply happy. Never did I see him without a grin on his face. I only aspire to have half of his loving, optimistic values. After decades of teaching here at Yucca Valley High School, he made a huge impact on the lives of so many students, so many people.”

A recent yearbook photo. Photo courtesy Ilion, 2013.

Lauren DeCremer, Class of 2001

“You were there for me at a time when I really needed someone to care, and I will never forget the way you saw through my situation and encouraged me to move forward. I always strive to reach my students the way you did yours. Thank you for the lessons.”

Anonymous, Class of 2019

“He was the teacher that always said “hi” and “good morning” to everybody with a smile on his face. He would have small talk with everybody, and it was nice to see him every day and have a small conversation that always ended with a smile.”

Emmaleeonna Johnson, Class of 2019

“Mr. Frakes was the only teacher I had for my entire high school career. Over the last four years, we all created memories with him. He was always an influencer and never failed to have a smile on his face. His intentions were always genuine, and one of my biggest regrets is not letting him know how much we all appreciate him more often.”

He was such a kind and accepting man, just being in his class made me feel a little more accepted.

Alexander Courtney, Class of 2019

“When I first moved back to Yucca, it was four months before the end of the school year. I was having a very rough time adjusting to my new family and an even harder time adjusting to the school. I came to school and cried at least once each day — this is where Mr. Frakes came in. He was such a kind and accepting man, just being in his class made me feel a little more accepted. Despite my life going so badly, he was there with me every step of the way to help me adjust. Without his help, I would not be nearly as successful as I am today.”

Todd Brown, Social Science

“Upon visiting John Frakes’s classroom, I observed how empowering his teaching methods were while teaching the French language to his students. He was able to motivate his students well, and his students were very engaged with the lesson. Also, John Frakes was one of our wonderful educators who was always present at the YVHS graduation ceremonies. His professionalism and contributions to YVHS and the community will be truly missed.”

Neo Cardoso, Class of 2019

“Mr. Frakes meant a lot of things for me. It was my favorite class in tenth and eleventh grade. I had it second period in tenth grade, and it would usually start my day off right, and then I had it sixth period in eleventh grade, and I would go home speaking French. I love speaking French, and a big part of that would be how Mr. Frakes would say stuff like “Good job!” or “This is good!” (all in French, of course). He is also the teacher that gave me my first letter of recommendation, which truly meant the world for me. I miss and love Mr. Frakes, and I just want to thank him for everything he did for me.”

Alam Mendoza, Class of 2019

“Mr. Frakes, I’ve written you a letter before, in my sophomore year, and I just wanted to tell you that I miss you with all my heart, and that I could never forget how much you were there for me and watched me go through my high school years. I’ll never forget you would tell me constantly, “Oh, Alam,” or “I see Alam becoming a language teacher and coaching the soccer team.” I remember our last conversation. I will miss you deeply, Monsieur Frakes, mi mon ami. Au revoir.

--

--

Odyssey Editors
The Odyssey

The editorial staff of YVHS’s online periodical.