The most common mistake dine-in restaurants make on UberEats

A bird in hand is worth two in the bush. So don’t let it slip away.

Sowdri Murugesan
Zagl - Mobile Commerce Platform
2 min readSep 5, 2018

--

Waiting for the order?

Recently I was dining at one of my favourite burger joints and while I was waiting for my burger I could see a lot of UberEats bags being picked up by the drivers and there were also a few other drivers chitchatting, while waiting for their package.

Basically as a customer waiting for my order, it appeared to me as if I have been put on the back seat

On top of it, there were other customers waiting as well, who had a weird look on their face, which exuded a discontent that comes from the feeling that the restaurant is prioritising Uber deliveries over their orders.

Given the reputation of the restaurant, I know for sure that it wasn’t the case and probably they are just making the orders according to the time they were placed, and all those UberEats orders would have genuinely been placed even before I arrived.

But I was able to realise all of this after the fact and unfortunately customers always don’t think rationally

Before this incident, I was looking through a social media post of another restaurant and there was a comment by a customer with read,

“Why would I ever drive all the way to your place, if you are always busy serving UberEats?”

This customer obviously has gone through something similar to my experience. Of course there was a follow-up reply by the restaurant owner and the conversation went on, but the point is that the damage is done.

I’m not saying that as a restaurant you’re prioritising Uber

But basically the purpose of this post is to bring a certain level of awareness as to what is going through the mind of a customer while he’s actually dining in the restaurant and if there are a lot of UberEats bags going out of the door, you could be a bit more empathetic, such that you don’t hurt the sentiments of your most valuable customers, who actually take the time to drive all the way to your place to enjoy you’re offering.

Unfortunately, I don’t have a solution for this problem

If you have a suggestion as to how this problem could be addressed, please share it in the comments below.

If you are a busy UberEats restaurant and if you would like to know how you could reduce commissions, read this article. For more information on setting up a commission free online ordering system for your restaurant please visit our website or write to us at support@zagl.io

Photo by rawpixel on Unsplash

--

--