Introducing our ‘Pieces of me’ podcast host: Janine Matos Buchholz

Marietta Kelpinski
Zalando Talent Communities
2 min readOct 7, 2022

So, with the launch of our new ‘Pieces of me’ podcast just around the corner on October 18th, we caught up with host, Janine Matos Buchholz, for a sneak preview of what to expect from the first episode.

Firstly, what do you do when you’re not being a podcast host?

I’m a Senior Program Manager in the Partner Services Business Unit. I’m based in Berlin, and this year I’ll celebrate my 10th anniversary at Zalando. Outside of work, I like to discover new spots with my family, try out new restaurants with friends, or try to survive another HIIT training! 🏋️‍♀️

How did you get involved with Pieces of Me?

I already host the Zalando Demo, an internal livestream format that gives teams and projects the possibility to present their releases and achievements to all Zalando employers. I really enjoy connecting with colleagues and I am an advocate of our founding mindset: default to transparency. Podcasts are a great way to share information and have authentic conversations, and I come across so many people with amazing stories at Zalando that need to be told! I reached out to the Employer Branding team, and together we worked on an intriguing new concept to excite and share our culture with our listeners.

What can you tell us about the first episode?

OK, for the first episode, we had Joyce Chen on the show. She’s the VP of Engineering Beauty here at Zalando and she’s fascinating. We talked lots about her professional experience, but also about her family values and traditions. She really inspired me to value also the small things and not overthink everything.

You’re asking every guest to bring in various ‘Pieces of me’ items. So, what did Joyce bring in?

Ha! I can’t possibly reveal that before the launch. But yes, we ask guests to bring in three things they love. It’s actually a really interesting way to talk about people’s lives and careers. Joyce had some inspiring stories… stay tuned!

What can people expect from future shows?

We’ve got a great line-up of guests. In every episode, I ask the guests about their lives, careers and views on the big topics, using their ‘Pieces of me’ as inspiration. For me, it’s such a great opportunity to hear those stories, I’m really proud to be involved.

‘Pieces of me’ goes live on 18th October, when we’ll be releasing not just one, but two episodes. Make sure it’s in your diary!

--

--