Gen Z vs World Record Egg

2 hours ago, we asked thousands of youth about the world record egg.

Tiffany Zhong
Zebra IQ

--

If you have no idea what I’m talking about and you’re a brand, please email me ASAP lol — tiffany@zebraiq.com

TL;DR — 3 people made an Instagram account that just had a photo of an egg and challenged everyone on Instagram to see if they could collaborate in making this photo of a random egg the most liked photo on Instagram. They succeeded. Before this egg became the most liked photo on IG, Kylie Jenner’s gram of her newborn was the most liked, so here was Kylie’s reaction. More here: NYTimes, The Atlantic

“Do you follow the World Record Egg on Instagram? How do you feel about it?”

Selected answers 🌿

⭐️ Positive sentiment

  • Of course I follow him, it’s really shocking and amazing that he could get 52 million likes just by posting an egg
  • Yes. I think it’s funny. I like how they update their profile so they have an eggvolution.
  • yes. i think it’s cool how everyone can come together to like a picture.
  • It’s nice seeming that we will come together for the spite of it
  • Yes, it’s dumb but cool
  • No and it’s a cool thing.
  • I don’t follow them. I don’t know a lot about it either. But it’s cool
  • It’s kinda cool tbh

🤷 Negative or neutral sentiment

  • It was a complete waste of time
  • it’s dumb
  • No I do not follow the world record egg on Instagram because I am trying to keep the amount of people I follow to a minimum.
  • No, and don’t really care

⭐️ Positive sentiment

  • It feels funny to be following something that just happened to be the most randomest yet funny instagram meme.
  • I thought the egg was a very creative idea. That proved anyone can reach the recorded on Instagram, if the photo spreads enough.
  • Yes and it made me feel pretty cool as it was so stupid it made me laugh
  • Yes I think it’s amazing
  • Don’t follow but liked it. Good message
  • No I don’t have Instagram. It’s kinda dumb but funny
  • I don’t follow it, and i think it’s pretty cool that an egg beat Kylie Jenner for the most liked instagram picture.
  • I don’t follow the account but I did like it. I thought it was fun and silly but don’t have any desire to keep up to date with the egg account now.
  • I think the concept of the egg is pretty interesting however I didn’t know about it until the world record was already reached so I didn’t feel the need to add more followers. I did like it however!

🤷 Negative or neutral sentiment

  • I don’t get it… like,, why??? Just why?
  • I didn’t. It reminded me of those social media challenges from 2013 era and it felt overrated.
  • It’s stupid! Just a gimmicky social media fad.
  • I do not follow but I think it’s getting out of control
  • I think it’s pretty pointless
  • No, I do not. But I am aware of it.
  • I don’t follow it
  • I don’t but I think it’s so stupid

⭐️ Positive sentiment

  • I think what they ended up doing with their platform was wonderful, mental health is important.
  • I don’t follow it but I am glad to see that the platform is being used for good. Especially mental health. However it always sucks seeing things go viral when there are injustices everyday that struggle to be remembered or discussed for more than a week
  • I don’t follow them but I did like the photo. I think it’s cool because there isn’t a lot you can hate about it so it was able to bring a lot of people together
  • Nah, I liked the pic tho. It’s cool but pretty wack how Ishan Goel claimed credit for it, got a shit ton of praise, then got found out he didn’t lol. I don’t care too much about the egg, pretty damn funny how it beat out Kylie Jenner tho
  • Clever. Pointless. Manipulative.
  • Yes. I think it’s pretty funny how so many people support this egg account. It’s weird how ‘the egg’ didn’t really do anything to get all this attention, but i think the idea of an egg having an instagram is funny.
  • No. It’s amusing that people did rally together and get an egg to have the most likes though. Got to love humanity
  • Yes, I do; I thought it was very funny! A bit of a troll though.
  • No. It’s ok, it’s just an attempt to market something and create a sensation that has advertising pull.
  • egg > Kardashians always so 100% support to the egg

🤷 Negative or neutral sentiment

  • No. Funnily I just had a discussion in my english class about this egg which goes to say how far its reach is… I mean i guess it’s funny that it’s the most liked pic, but I don’t really actually care. If I had come across it, I would have liked it just bc it takes minimal effort to dethrone other people who dominate social media through means of propaganda and stuff. But it’s not like that great of a milestone or anything.
  • I don’t follow the page, but I feel like it’s a good indicator of the silly culture that has come with the rise of social media
  • No and I think it’s dumb and a big scheme. I don’t think that growth and attention was organic.
  • Nope! I think it’s dumb but shows how quickly simple things can go viral in the current age
  • I did keep updated with it. But, no. I do not follow it. I honestly didn’t understand the hype too well. It is just an egg, which by this point is probably expired.
  • No, I don’t follow the account. However, I did like the initial post just for fun to be part of the hype! Once that record was broken, I saw no need to follow the account.
  • No I don’t follow, thought it was funny now it’s irrelevant
  • No I don’t — I’ve only seen the photo on other people’s stories and on E!
  • I don’t follow it, and I think it’s pretty dumb. I do appreciate how people came together to make it the most liked post, though.
  • I do not! I think it’s kind of stupid
  • I’ve heard about it and seen it I think it’s a bit silly.
  • No, Kylie Jenner deserved to have it
  • No I don’t follow this, nor have I heard of it.
  • No I think it’s cool though
  • Never heard of ‘em
  • I honestly didn’t really hear about it until a few days later
  • No. Weird trend.

--

--

Tiffany Zhong
Zebra IQ

Follow on Twitter for teen consumer insights @TZhongg @ZebraIQ