φίδι — Serpent

Nis;RE
Zen Poetry
2 min readFeb 15, 2023

--

A poem about rebirth in darkness of the soul

Photo by Jan Kopřiva on Unsplash

Thunder cracked
In the stormy night
Looming fortress
Stood proud with might
Stained glass windows
With flashes of light
Castle hallways
Without a soul in sight
Shadow silhouette
Cast by burning flame
Walls tainted by
Bloodied hands and stumbling limbs
In tattered white soaked with rain
Leaving trails of liquid mirrors

Darkness draped behind her
As her faint light faded into
The chamber of crystals
Where it dwelled as it guarded
The depths of the sapphire lake —

And from the waters it rose
Its emerald eyes glowed

“I granted your wish; a fortress to withstand any blow
and gave you a new skin, yet you still return unhappy so”

Forked tongue flicked
At the heavy scent of rusty iron

“You have tried to tear down the very walls you desire
For what reason, if I may inquire?”

Her bare feet shifted
At the harsh coldness of the air

“Your fortress has always protected me from wars and storms
But it has stopped me from seeing the world in its truest form

The skin you gave, protected me from dangers of the world
But now it is I who they call cold-blooded

And no matter how hard I tried
He will always remain an outsider”

The giant beast hissed and pondered.

“Such is the temptation of heart’s desires
But take heed, εαυτός
For you will be at mercy of the world
Do you still wish so?”

She gazed at her reflection
As it coiled and raised its head high
Ready for a strike

Yes

She closed her eyes
Her arms opened wide
As the serpent launched at her
Jaw opened wide with poison fangs
The darkness engulfed her
She smiled

“Again, I am reborn”

Thank you for reading.

If you are interested to see more of my works, please follow me & click on the below link for my published works:

Poems by Nis;RE

36 stories

--

--

Nis;RE
Zen Poetry

❀ Spiritual Poet & Artist in Love & Life ❀ Psy/Int.Business Major ❀ INFJ ❀ Lover of Nature ❀ Writes Poems to Comfort Lost or Kindred Souls ❀ Seeker of Lessons ❀