I don’t want to do it — a poem of bored at work

Astaria DÁrci - Whispering Echo
Zen Poetry
1 min readJan 30, 2024

--

Image by magnetme on Pixabay

I don’t want to do it

I don’t want to do what I do anymore

I have less time left on this earth than I have lived before

I don’t want to spend my precious time in endless meetings about meaningless things

Meetings where discussions about rules, compliance, and regulations are topics of kings

Of bosses and executives all serious and boring

Of workplace politics, gossip, and stories

What other people are doing doesn’t matter to me

I just want to be free to be me,

no more waiting for others to make up their mind about whether I’m important to them or matter enough to give me their time

I no longer have energy for others that they gladly take, enjoy, and leave me to mine

I do want adventure

Name the time and place

I’ll be there with all of me, courage with grace

Maybe explore the Amalfi Coast

Dine on pizza and chianti

Maybe even a little Operandi

Stop by at Mykonos

Blue water, white buildings

Relax kick back and forget about the boss

--

--