I want to be a star

Pixies
Zen Poetry
2 min readSep 24, 2024

--

(image provided by the author, Pixies)

I want to be a star.

My mother is a star, my father is a star. Even my little sister is a star.

But I am not one.

I want to glow like them.

I want to shine like them.

I want to radiate like them.

(image provided by the author, Pixies)

Every night, I look at the sky, hoping their lights would make me a star.

But nothing changes. My kindred stars don’t seem to see me, no matter how much I wish for it.

(image provided by the author, Pixies)

At school, there’s a star I like.

They’re gigantic, so the other stars laugh at them.

But at least they are a star.

And I want to be a star too.

Maybe if I were a star, they would like me?

I want to be a star.

I want to be a star.

I want to be a star.

But I’m not.

And if I’m not a star, what am I?

(image provided by the author, Pixies)

“We all are born [stars],

The greatest tragedy is being convinced we are not” — Rupi Kaur

--

--

Pixies
Zen Poetry
0 Followers
Writer for

☆ Hello ! I'm the girl behind "Tales of the wandering star" ☆