Natalie

Nicholas Rawson
Zen Poetry
1 min readMay 30, 2023

--

This is an old “unrequited” love poem. If I were to write this now it would sound a lot different.

Dear Natalie,

Its been

years since I last saw you.

I still love you.

I still miss you.

and wonder where and how you are.

Where did you go?

And where do you hide,

Where do you store your love tonight?

I wish.

yes, I wish.

but its too late

Its way past too late.

I will say

I miss those nights

spent making out on the couch

with my shoes by the back door

and an ear out for your parents return

as endless streams of sit-coms flipped by in time-lapse.

“ I thought Cheers was on “ I said

“That was an hour ago”, you replied.

Natalie,

we were in it deep

A million glances,

A billion kisses

But I don’t think we ever truly met.

--

--

Nicholas Rawson
Zen Poetry

Classically Trained Chef, Zen Practitioner, Poet, Record Collector.