Rock God

Astaria DÁrci - Whispering Echo
Zen Poetry
4 min readJul 10, 2024

--

A poem about finding a resolution to an unsatisfactory liaison when they reach out after ten months of no contact.

Unamed Open Source on Pixabay

Rock God

There is no such thing

Just a bit of fun

To let you know that

I was your biggest fan

Cheerleader with a pom pom

I loved you in song

But in life too

In my words sprawled across the paper, I expressed it so to you

But it’s a little late for stage and glory

Time has passed and not been kind

One year on since all that

Too much of the amber sap

Memory fails you

So gaslighting is on your mind

Our Connection like the lyrics of a song

You cannot deny

As much as you try

Unreal but enchanting

No more than a web of ego-plumping

Invisible gas flaring into the ether

Meeting your needs for moments of time

Ego centricity no empathy though for mine

Scripts and promises empty noise

Keeping me tight to engage in this fantasy of yours

When real looms though

Run for the hills

Deny and minimise, take a pill

Reaching out but no different decision

Boring and repetitive like I was just that adoring

But not so much as you thought

Deeply missed you said

But really, I’m just snoring

Rethink the whole thing, a genuine change of heart

Not likely

I get that you missed me

I gave a lot

But what I got was not

You won’t forget me

Because the sound of my words will follow you home

The love I gave you put you on a throne

But if your words meant anything

I would have held your hand till you walked to the light

but instead

When the stage lights dim and the crowd goes home

Old friends move on

Keeping only that your words had no meaning

The act, well it was quite demeaning

Distorting the truth to suit your needs

Playing a game pendulating in deeds

Dementia may visit but the truth will be told

Overwhelm you might feel when I called you home

Playing out the dismissive-avoidant drama, yes, you’ve got issues, you’re not alone

Well, my darling, it was a blast

But life got real and now I have to pass

Apology accepted but access denied

To retain contact at a distance is to perpetuate the lie

Just sing your song and dance your dance

Go on with the story you’ve woven inside

It’s just too late for me to revive

Goodbye baby goodbye

There is no such thing

Just a bit of fun

To let you know that

I was your biggest fan

Cheerleader with a pom pom

I loved you in song

But in life too

In my words sprawled across the paper, I expressed it so to you

But it’s a little late for stage and glory

Time has passed and not been kind

One year on since all that

Too much of the amber sap

Memory fails you

So gaslighting is on your mind

Our Connection like the lyrics of a song

You cannot deny

As much as you try

Unreal but enchanting

No more than a web of ego-plumping

Invisible gas flaring into the ether

Meeting your needs for moments of time

Ego centricity no empathy though for mine

Scripts and promises empty noise

Keeping me tight to engage in this fantasy of yours

When real looms though

Run for the hills

Deny and minimise, take a pill

Reaching out but no different decision

Boring and repetitive like I was just that adoring

But not so much as you thought

Deeply missed you said

But really, I’m just snoring

Rethink the whole thing, a genuine change of heart

Not likely

I get that you missed me

I gave a lot

But what I got was not

You won’t forget me

Because the sound of my words will follow you home

The love I gave you put you on a throne

But if your words meant anything

I would have held your hand till you walked to the light

but instead

When the stage lights dim and the crowd goes home

Old friends move on

Keeping only that your words had no meaning

The act, well it was quite demeaning

Distorting the truth to suit your needs

Playing a game pendulating in deeds

Dementia may visit but the truth will be told

Overwhelm you might feel when I called you home

Playing out the dismissive-avoidant drama, yes you’ve got issues, you’re not alone

Well, my darling, it was a blast

But life got real and now I have to pass

Apology accepted but access denied

To retain contact at a distance is to perpetuate the lie

Just sing your song and dance your dance

Go on with the story you’ve woven inside

It’s just too late for me to revive

Goodbye baby goodbye

--

--