CCTV for your Electrical Consumption

Amarjeet Singh
Zenergy
Published in
3 min readApr 24, 2016

Last Sunday I went for groceries (yes, I am one of those who still like doing groceries myself than ordering online since I like to explore what new is on the shelf!). The person at the counter, after my payment, packed stuff in two bags and I just brought them home without checking the items. Later I realised that one of the item was missing. Weekdays were busy so I went again yesterday to the same shop and told the owner that I forgot something last week. He asked me about the time of payment which I approximately knew. Then he reminded me to check my SMS since I paid by credit card. After I confirmed the time, he checked in his digital record system and reprinted the bill. The first thing was confirmed — the missing item was billed. Now he needed to confirm if I indeed left it or if I dropped it somewhere. He went to his CCTV system, rolled back the counter camera to the exact time we knew when shopping was done and confirmed that his person forgot to put my item in the two bags he made for me. Without any further discussion, he gave me the item which was missing. More than getting the item back, I was happy at how technology is weaving the things together — my payment confirmation SMS time was used to extract the exact payment from the shop’s digital system and then the CCTV was used to confirm the exact flow of events that happened. I was in the Aha! moment for quite some time even after leaving the shop.

This event also reminded me of one of our customer interactions that happened in February 2015. We visited this customer (a very reputed pharma company) who had installed our energy monitoring solution for their office building. In our discussion, it emerged that on that day they had switched on their hot water generator (HWG) at 7 AM and switched it off at 7:45. It was one of the days in February when weather was pleasant and there was no need to heat the indoor environment. That was the reason, the hot water generator was never switched on thereafter the whole day. In our discussion with the facility manager, when we mentioned about the wasteful operation of HWG, he called his duty in charge. Till that point, the duty in charge didn’t know that our system is monitoring all the consumption in real time. He duly denied any operation of HWG in the morning saying that the weather is good, I arrived at 7 AM and I know for sure that no wasteful operation happened. When the facility manager showed the duty in charge our data, he had no response.

I was reminded of this encounter from more than a year ago yesterday. And then I started thinking — what if the CCTV system was smart enough to detect a leftover item on the counter and raise an alert so all this episode that I went through could have been avoided in the first place. While that may sound futuristic, thats what we already do for the electrical infrastructure.

At the very basic level, our energy monitoring solution is like a CCTV for any electrical infrastructure. It monitors minute events and then keeps a record for them for you to cross-check at any point of time. And there on the real fun begins! It doesn’t just leave you with the data. We push analytics in the form of daily emails that summarise yesterday’s performance for your facility. Our sophisticated models are working round the clock to extract actionable insights from the collected data. We have been continuously working on closing the loop to perform automated control based on these actionable insights. Wherever we still can’t do automated control, the system pushes an SMS to the concerned person for manual control. We help you maintain uniform air conditioning across your large number of geographically spread out outlets (whether you are a bank or a restaurant chain!). We are your eyes and ears to help you reduce your energy spend and contribute to the degrading environment (and for the future of your own kids!).

We are the future!

Get in touch if you want to do the next big thing for your electrical infrastructure.

--

--