Do You Write as a Reader or a Writer?

Overthinking authenticity

Viraja Teggihal
ZENITE
2 min readJul 28, 2024

--

Photo by Andrew Neel on Unsplash

Is it only me? Or do you also find yourself analysing your work from your reader’s perspective as you write stories on medium?

Is it the fear of judgement that makes me do so? Or is it just a human being’s basic desire to seek validation?

Nevertheless, it upsets me because I constantly think about how a reader perceives my writing and wonder if my work would be any different if I had the ability to erase this recurring algorithm.

I’m not famous or anything, yet, I find myself lost in these thoughts over and over again. Why do I take myself so seriously?

Everytime I write something funny, I laugh as a writer first, then I read it again and I laugh as a reader after which, all these people come together, and we laugh together!

I also wonder if it’s a percentage : Maybe I’m writing as 70% reader and 30% writer ?

My brain now justifies that my reader is also my writer. If I didn’t like how something sounds to the reader in me, then, the writer in me wouldn’t probably approve. Are they the same people?

My judgements are suddenly beginning to disappear now. Are they the same people and is there no point to this story of mine? Or will I have a completely different style of writing if the reader in me was blinded ?

--

--