LIFE/WRITING

Surprisingly, I Have a Complicated Relationship with Writing

A digital overload consumes me as I desperately chase the elusive promise of Inbox Zero

Henya Drescher
ZENITE
Published in
4 min readSep 14, 2023

--

Courtesy, commons.wikimedia.org

Breathe —

Breathebreathebreathebreathebreathe

Everything is spinning. I listen to the passing of time. Nothing happens. The rush of seconds and minutes drags me toward nothingness. And what does it mean when we say time passes? Is it possible to experience time passing? But I will leave the questions about the passage of time to metaphysics because words measure my time.

“How long is forever?” inquires Alice.

“Sometimes, just one second,” responds the White Rabbit.

If I stop and do nothing, nothing happens. Suppose I am thinking about nothing. I listen to the passing of time.

I have a complicated relationship with writing. Sometimes, I even distrust writing. It gives sententious pronouncements, makes moral judgments, describes purported historical facts, or tells exciting stories.

Charting the courses taken by the great, my words follow frozen minds into the vast, dark terra incognita of the past, and unconsciously, I build upon a palimpsest of books written long ago and built

--

--

Henya Drescher
ZENITE

Psychological thrillers writer, wife, mother, weightlifter, gardener. Stolen Truth on Amazon.