Starting With Flutter

Samveg Thaker
Zenithec Techware
Published in
2 min readFeb 10, 2021

Whether you are a beginner or an expert, you must have come across a thought.

Should I go with Native Android (Java + XML) or should I go for Hybrid development?

Now you decide to go with Hybrid Development. So the next question comes in.

Should I go with React Native or go with Flutter?

Well, that’s a debate for a completely different day. So let’s jump into starting with Flutter.

Credits — https://unsplash.com/photos/7SDoly3FV_0

Where to start?

Setting up the flutter will be the 1st thing we will do. Either you can see this video or follow this. The blog is available for all the OS — Windows, Mac, Linux and Chrome OS.

Which IDE to go ahead?

Well, it depends on you. I prefer Android Studio since I have been using it for native development, and I am extremely comfortable using it. The environment Android Studio provides for application development is unparalleled.

If you have a low spec PC, it would be best to use the VS Code as the IDE. It’s the best IDE out there. Android Studio needs a high spec to perform flawlessly.

Here are the links for Android Studio and VS Code.

Some CODING!

Finally, let’s start with some coding. There are some musts to understand Flutter Application Development and be a PRO!

Understanding the WIDGETS and their LIFECYCLE is a must. You can watch this playlist and speed up your learning. You will wonder how such a small code can bring about such excellent Android and iOS applications.

What’s next?

There are a lot of things you can proceed with. Most important would be making a Dynamic Application. Here is something that I took as my first project for Flutter.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.avasar.life.suicide.prevention.student.avsar.avasarlife

Download and let me know how it is? What can I improve, and what did you like about it? Stay tuned for more blogs where I will cover the Code Structure, hierarchy and a lot more.

--

--

Samveg Thaker
Zenithec Techware

Entrepreneur | SE at Microsoft | Ex-DSC Lead | Winner of SIH2019 | Android Developer