Chrome console log got cleared on reloading

XiaoPeng
ZenUML
Published in
1 min readApr 28, 2018

TL;DR

Buffer Chrome extension navigates your browser to its tpc-check.html page. This is not visible by default because it has not direct effect on the current page. However, this will cause Chrome to clear your current console log by default.

Recently, I noticed a weird behaviour of my Chrome browser when I was debugging www.zenuml.com . It clears all my console logs.

My first guess is hot-reload. Tried a few configuration changes, no luck.

Then I tried Firefox. Firefox is NOT clearing the log. It ruled out any server-side issues.

Then I checked how to preserve logs.

“Preserve log” configuration

Then I noticed that Chrome is navigated to to a Chrome extension page.

This is the Buffer extension. After I removed Buffer, “Preserve log” is no longer necessary.

--

--