Firebase Admin help

XiaoPeng
ZenUML
Published in
2 min readJun 16, 2018

Background

Firebase admin is a desktop client for Google’s firebase.

I am using firebase for my product ZenUML.com.

After downloaded the application, I found that the help link is dead, so I am recording my steps to configure it. You can refer to it before it goes alive again.

TL;DR

Firebase admin does not support cloud firestore. If you are using realtime database, you can continue.

Step 1: make sure you have a “Realtime Database” setup.

Realtime database is a big JSON. Cloud Firestore stores data is documents organised in collections.

Step 2: generate and export a private key

Go to ‘Users and permissions’ -> ‘Service accounts’
Click ‘Generate new private key’

Step 3: import downloaded private key in Firebase admin

Click the ‘Import’ button

Step 4: you should now see your document

--

--