Zerion: My First Few Weeks

Nicholas Marsilio
ZerionCustomerSuccess
2 min readMay 18, 2018

First weeks at at a new job are always stressful and nerve- wracking, however, Zerion is definitely different. To fully describe why it’s different I will have to go back to the beginning when I was first interviewing for the job.

My past first interviews have been nerve-wracking — I never knew what the correct thing to say would be in order to proceed further down the line. During my first call with Zerion, though, I felt very calm and did not feel that I was saying the wrong thing, not selling myself enough. The in- person interviews were even better, I never felt that I was being “sweated out” by being left in a room until an interviewer decided to walk in. The questions also did not feel that they were grilling me for my qualifications. It felt like a natural back and forth which helped put me at ease. Even when I first meet Sze, the CEO, I was really nervous but he was very accommodating and, again, it became a natural back and forth conversation. The second in face interview blew all expectations out the window as I played a video game (seriously!).

The first day of work was great. As soon as I walked in, everything was already set up for the Day 1 Orientation. Not only was the orientation informative and helpful in preparing me for the rest of the week, everyone I met was welcoming and I felt like one of the team immediately. I was even provided a schedule of events to make sure there was no down time or that I was playing second fiddle to the day to- day.

There was a lot to take in but everyone made sure they weren’t going to fast or I was unsure of anything they were talking about. This is a major improvement in my book as in my last job I was thrown to dogs with very little information and it was on me to ask the necessary questions rather than they have set trainings in place. It is nice to know that they want me to succeed as much as I want to and constantly provide me the tools to do just that. I am a valued employee not number XXX in the ever going mill of hiring. Overall my first week was fun and engaging something that I have always wanted from a job. A place that I want to be at and waking up in the morning is something I don’t dread but rather can’t wait for which says a lot about the atmosphere that Zerion has created for itself.

I can’t wait to see what comes next.

--

--