Stop Worrying About the Future — Do These 3 Things Instead

Mike Fishbein
Zero Infinity
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

2 min readJan 17, 2017

I often find myself worrying about the future. Instead of being present and enjoying what I’m doing in the moment, I’m thinking ahead, trying to predict what will happen next.

I worry about the economy collapsing, my clients firing me, my girlfriend dumping me, and about a hundred other things.

However, I, like most humans, am not great at predicting the future. Our predictions about the future are commonly inaccurate — even when we use complex models and detailed research reports. This reminds me that the worries about the future in my brain usually have almost no basis in reality.

So instead of worrying, I save my energy for betting things. Here’s what I do to stop worrying…

1. Have a bias towards optimism.

Have confidence that things will work out in your favor. Have confidence in your ability to handle adversity. Since it’s nearly impossible to accurately predict the future, we may as well lean towards positivity. Thinking positively may actually help you perform better and therefore avoid whatever you’re worried about.

2. Have confidence in your ability to adapt to whatever comes your way.

Even if things don’t go perfectly to plan, you will have learned and grown stronger from the experience. In addition, per hedonic adaption theory, our happiness levels tend to return to equilibrium after both wins and losses. A few weeks after getting a raise, we start wanting more. A few weeks after restricting our diets, we don’t hate vegetables as much. Knowing that you can adapt is a reason to stop worrying about the future and start focusing on taking action to improve in the present.

3. Take the best action.

Accept life as it comes. Regardless of what happens in the future, make the best of it. Take it one step at a time. Take action now. Take action tomorrow. Small improvements every day.

For 21 more healthy habits and rituals, check out my latest article below…

--

--