A high schooler’s first foray into the world of data

Shivamaneja
Zero-True
Published in
2 min readApr 4, 2024

My first week at Zero-True

Intro

My first week at Zero-True has been an exhilarating experience. As a high school student, working at an internship for the first time, Zero-True made it really fun to work and at the same time an amazing opportunity to learn how to work with python, SQL and the different ways to interpret and display data.

Python Libraries

Working with large amounts of data using python, I had to familiarize myself with python libraries like Pandas and Plotly express. I learned how to interpret data in JSON format and display it using dataframes and multiple different types of graphs.

import zero_true as zt 

zt.Dataframe.from_df(id='o',df=df)

This project was made to display how many different countries use the same currencies. It involved using libraries such as pandas and plotly.express. The compilation of data into pie chart required some help as the dataframe I provided in the pie chart was not in the right format. It took some time to realize what the problem exactly was, but ultimately with the help of the Zero-True team it was fixed.

Intro to SQL

While working on my projects, I stumbled upon a tool that would help me complete my projects with less hassle, this tool was SQL. SQL made the interpretation and compilation of data a lot easier than doing the same in python. While still learning SQL, the fundamentals have made projects less complex.

Plans for the future

In the future, I plan to keep on working on such projects involving the manipulation of data and making myself more familiar with better and faster ways of solving problems in my projects.

Conclusion

Overall, interning at Zero-true has been an exhilarating experience and I look forward to progressing in this journey. Thank you for reading my blog!

--

--