A letter to the past

Monu Chaudhary
The Zerone
Published in
2 min readApr 28, 2018

Dear Past,

I miss you so much. You might not be able to read my letter dear Past but I can’t keep all these things to myself. You need to hear, you need to know but you can’t since you are already gone. Though I am writing this letter to you hoping that you will read it. Such a perplexity.

I am in pain dear Past but you can’t see. You are so lucky that you don’t have to feel any pain or sorrow. Perhaps you can’t even feel happiness. You never existed but you are always so extant. It’s so surreal but so pragmatic in nature. And now I am suffering in the silhouette you created of me. You take me away from myself; snatch me from the very happy moment that I enjoy and take all my sorrows too. I don’t know if you love me or not and I can’t even know this ever but dear Past you have been what that remained of me. You remind me of what I have been, what I could have been and what I should never have been.

Oh dear Past, I love you so much. But it’s so sad we could never meet each other. I am just a moment away from you but the very little moment between us is as long as eternity. I always die so that you could live longer. Without my existence you are nowhere. Yet you don’t fathom my sacrifice. You never let me live. The moment I realize I exist, it is already you. Why are you so harsh upon me? You have forever been young dear Past but please don’t smirk upon seeing me grow into wrinkles and week bones.

Dear Past, you will never understand what I am suffering from every time. I want to live. I want to cherish you. If you want to help me now then don’t make me cry remembering you of myself on my good and bad days then.

I just hope that one day the hands in the clock break. Time collapse into the deep abyss of something unknown. May be then we could meet or may be we will never exist at all. Oh dear past, Why are we made this way? Does there even exist an answer to this question? How can we meet? Should I time travel to you? But won’t I become past if I come to you? Will we ever be able to meet? So many questions and there exists no true answer to this.

I think I am being too skeptical and now that I am already tired it’s time I conclude my letter.

Yours, Present

--

--