Dear home : A letter from distant

The random writer
The Zerone
Published in
2 min readDec 17, 2023

In the quiet moments of solitude when the buzz of this unknown city surrounds me, I find myself yearning for the familiar embrace of your walls. It's in these moments that i realize the true
essence of what you represent-more than just a mere physcial space you are the cornerstone of my existence.

Dear home, being away from you has made me feel that you need to be away from somethings to understand the importance these things hold in your life. I have come to realize that you are not just a building of blocks and stones but more of a vessel that holds memories,moments of joys and sorrows, the experiences i have shared with you.

In the whirlwind of life's journey, i am a wanderer and as i wander these landscapes of unknown i carry the the resilience inside of me that come from you, the love i felt and the lessons i learned within your walls.

Dear home, do you know that your aroma is something else? Just being at home was all enough to be comfortable. The comfort of the bed in my bedroom is magical, the kitchen talks with mami and the food made by her will always be my favorite, the support that baba gave sitting in your hall is the greatest strength of my life, the life lessons and stories by hajurbuwa hold a very firm place in my mind and heart. Your walls remind me of hajuraama everytime i come back to you and of course the cute fights with my brother were really good which i miss very badly these days.

Those gatherings of cousins and relatives within the bound of your doors and windows are still captivated in my heart. I remember how we cousins used to sleep in the same room whenever we gathered and whenever there was a family function, there was always enough space for all the people that came. How is it possible that you could hold so much people inside you when needed?

At home i was always accepted unconditionally no matter how i was or how badly i had fallen.
Dear home, i've laughed and i've cried, i've enjoyed and i've grieved, i've found and i've lost. But the most important thing is that i have grown and you have been an intergral part of my growth. I have even lost myself in this journey but you always stood upright for me so that i could also stand again and move forward.

Until the day I return to your warm embrace, i will crave for the warmth, love and comfort you provide.
So, my dear home, i thank you for all the things that you offered to me.

--

--