Dragging to Deadline

Chirayu Oli
The Zerone
Published in
3 min readJan 4, 2020

9:24 PM

Saturday, January 4, 2020

Just copied the date and time from Google for the 4th time. Too lazy to remember the correct format when I can just type “time” and get that within a second.

It has been about 2 days since I saw the poster for the Article Writing Competition from Zerone in Facebook college group. I clicked the link, read for a minute and then started to procrastinate about how I’ll go to the stage and receive the award for something that I have no idea on while slowly scrolling over the memes in Instagram.

Then again, a day later, there was another post mentioning ‘deadline-extended’ which clearly was intended for all those day-dreamers like me whose hands were folded around devices all day for scrolling, giving ‘haha’ reacts, and spending hours over Youtube patrakar’s news portals while complaining the content consumption of Nepalese viewers.

I have no idea if I’ll even complete this article or not. If you’re reading this then bravo to me, I did it despite the “tung-tung” from Viber and “putung-putung” from Messenger and the yawns I get while doing anything productive at any time.

For about an hour I switched between all three topics, asking for opinions from 3 friends in Facebook, and obviously they all had different suggestions. So, no luck there.

I moved on to ask help from Google. For me, it is a social media of all the websites competing for the number 1 position in search results just like how I wish all my followers liked my photos despite posting extremely unhelpful quotes from unknown celebrities.

Then I reached to the search bar with ego safely hidden behind the screen and typed “ideas for writing a article”, yes I wrote ‘a article’ and got corrected instantly ‘Did you mean: ideas for writing an article?” Well, the ego for now was nowhere to be seen.

It is 10:29 pm, one and half hour to deadline.

The desire to complete this article is still intact, so that I’ll not be spending another Netflix and ‘chau-chau’ day, just to feel sad about myself at my productive night schedule. It comprises of extensive tapping across stories from friends posting their drawings, songs, photographs, and even the mememaster69 ones ‘trying’ to spread smiles and screenshotted contents.

Well, 11:11 it is, “Happy 11:11!”

Never knew why this particular time holds a significant place in conversations, specially if you wish to please someone as they gather around the universe in their own time-zone to make prayers at this auspicious moment. But still, kudos to technology, we are blessed with yet another living Goddess, it is 11:11, the social media Devi.

Coming to this point of writing about 400+ words, I felt so overwhelmed that I lost another 30 minutes. Went on to send above text to those 3 friends just to make myself feel better hinting a hidden message “I’m not just a lazy body behind the screen.”

Its almost deadline, I’ve spent a lot of time in this, more than two hours from my busy schedule. I guess my Youtube subscriptions are waiting for their one extra view, my followings in Instagram are waiting for one extra like, my friends in Facebook are waiting for one more reaction.

Thank you for spending your valuable social-media time reading my article.

--

--