Hogtie

Sony Karki
The Zerone
Published in
2 min readJan 27, 2019

Anupriya was sunshine of my life, whose arrival brought us bliss, happiness, love, warmth and compassion. My eldest daughter was the first female child after eight generations. Her birth made those gloomy days shiny one, rainy days sunny one and empty heart filled one. The feeling I had when I held my little Anu was out of this world, now I was filled with fatherly love, compassion and responsibility and was a complete man. Birth of my second daughter Riya(Kanchu as I call her), made me equally happy and joyful. I was father to two beautiful daughter of this world; two gems of my life. I would sneak into their rooms looking their cute innocent face shinning in the moon-light. My weekends would go by watching them play with dolls, roaming around, nursing them and playing with them.

As the time passed, World was changing and so were them. I ensured my daughter has everything that I never had. My little daughter started arguing for smart gadgets and access to those gadgets was making me more inaccessible to them and their little tiny mind. The dinner time which used to be filled with joyful conversation, chattering, jokes were now replaced by silence, clicks of food served (for insta stories) and irritating sound of their phones. Anu, my little munchkin whose day started with little walk with her father, morning tea with her mother and a little chat with her sister were now replaced. It was replaced with the never ending conversation with her 1000 friends and her morning V-logs. I wonder why hasn’t any of her 1000 virtual friend visited her once and her statuses compel me to think if Anu is completely different person as i can neither explain her mood swings, nor her feelings as she doesn’t openly share her world in real and I cannot the dots to make a full picture out of what she is experiencing which leads me to speculate if she is traumatized or we are putting some kind of pressure on her. . We have become despite the fact that we have organs that can speak to each other.

I hope one day the revolt will fizzle out and an illusory discovery for me would come to end. I dream of dinning with my Anu peacefully with chats, jokes and her little secrets. I would walk miles holding her hand, listening how life is treating her and how she is learning to react to it.. The faces she makes the laughter she has, all the silent non verbal talkings and the ideas she would make my day complete. The end of technology would bring me closer to my Anu but will distant me from my kanchu. I would miss one of the best parts of my day where Riya would be right with me in my screen. Our long talks would vanish; the thousand miles which felt like inches would vanish.

--

--