Hold on

Monu Chaudhary
The Zerone
Published in
2 min readDec 17, 2017
Hold on, but don’t hold me back.

It was high time I slept. But what kept me awake was the thought of leaving the town. The next morning, I was leaving the town where I had spent more than a decade making the most invaluable memories of my life. The memories where most of the beautiful moments were captured forever. It was a hard time for me to think what it would be like without having to go to work, without having to meet my friends, without having to listen to the nonsense gossips of the neighbors, and without getting a chance to have a glimpse of you.

It had been long since we last met each other. And since then we became so busy in our own world that we never had time for a coffee. We were just being selfish. Selfish in our own ways. And eventually, it was only when our path encountered that we met.

The night, I slept fitfully. And every time I opened my eyes, I wished you were here. I wished I could look into your deep brown eyes for one last time. I wished I could hold your warm hands. I wished and I just wished for you. But, wishes not always come true. Yet, I wished unless I fell asleep again.

The next morning, I woke up abruptly. My eyes wide open were deprived of sleep. It felt as if I had never fallen asleep the night. I stared at the clock hung over the door as if staring would stop the time forever. It sent a chill down my spines realizing that the time spent here with you will never come back. My heart shrank by the thought of going away from you. Memories of you rushed into my mind and then it reminded me of what you told me the last time. So, I got up and got ready to leave.

Zerone is an undergrad publication at I.O.E, Pulchowk focusing on People (their creative side, their thoughts, their lives) and Technology (the new, the old, everything).

Follow us for more articles, stories, poems and other cool writings.

--

--