It’s more than a cup of coffee

Ashlesh Pandey
The Zerone
Published in
2 min readDec 31, 2018
Source: www.pinterest.com

From the days that are so hectic that it’s hard even to take a deep breath, I somehow manage time to have a cup of the anti-depressant beverage. I enter the coffee shop just like everyone does, tired of life. I don’t even need to place the order; my body looks so tired that the guy from the shop knows exactly what I need to lighten it up. Slowly walking into the shop, I feel all the sorrow of the day going away with every step I take.

I sit down alone, on a table for two. Just like everyone else, I pull out my phone and act like something interesting is going on. After scrolling down pages of everyone else’s day log, I am called upon to receive my order. Finally, I am not alone on my table, I have my cup, filled with the freshly brewed beans that come straight from the department store next door. With every sip from the cup, I forget what I’ve been through all day. All the boring lectures, hectic lab schedules and the never-ending thought of giving up slowly go way along with the bitter taste. With every sip I take of the brewed brown bean, I embrace all those darker shades of life. I realize; just as coffee is best served dark, all the darker shades of life make up who I am.

I feel eased while I softly murmur my day log to my cup. I know good things don’t last forever but I wish my cup never got empty. I drink up all the tiredness from the day and inhale life. But with all those feelings being washed off and the level inside the cup getting low, it’s time to leave. I pay for a cup of life and walk out the door a refreshed human.

It feels good to turn around and embrace what was a brilliant taste of life. I smile as I realize I didn’t just drink a cup of coffee, I healed life.

--

--