Journey on a Paper Boat

Bishal Bashyal
The Zerone
Published in
1 min readFeb 2, 2022
Art by An Art 4 life

I was born on a paper boat,

all my life, I have followed the wind.

perhaps my only destiny,

changing every second,

every minute, hour, and day.

I go where it takes me,

through the Infinium of blue potions

vile in existence.

Through rivers and oceans,

Highs and lows, wandering the corners,

water cities and water deserts, the arctic, pacific,

Seen it all.

I dream of one day stepping on land,

be it smooth, furry, rough, scarry,

I don’t care.

You see, my feet have never known how

to walk on their own.

My senses have never known how it feels

to go where I want,

all I have done is followed the wind,

an endless journey to nowhere.

I’m a machine, a soldier, who follows the orders

of uncertainty.

In this eternity, I had a hope,

of one day, stepping on land,

My legs never knew how to walk,

My boat never knew how to rest.

Decades have passed,

my boat never made it there.

My legs won’t probably make it either,

Perhaps land never existed! 🙂

I don’t blame my paper boat.

rugged, beaten, betrayed,

She is giving up slowly,

dissolving like she never existed.

--

--