slice of my marital life

Anuz Chhetri
The Zerone
Published in
3 min readJan 26, 2019

Slice of my marital life

It was my day off from the work, I was making snacks for my 8 year old daughter who at this time might be in her music class. Someone rang the doorbell, I took off my kitchen apron and ran towards the door. For my surprise it was my sister, Surprised for a reason-she had never shown off at this time of the day and she doesn’t come here until invited. I welcomed her. I don’t know why but she hugged me. She pulled the chair from the dining table asked me to sit. “I am sorry but I have to tell you this.” she said. Now she started to scare me. I was looking at her with what! Expression on my face. “I think Amit is having an affair but don’t you worry I am with you. Let him come home and we will talk about It.” she seemed furious

Amit, we were married 10 years ago. It was arranged but we fell in love after a month of our marriage, at least I loved him. We had great three years of our marriage, went different cities for the honeymoon, had late night talks and the most precious thing that happened to our life was the birth of our first child (probably the last). I still remember how he took care of me during my pregnancy, the happiness in his face when he took Alisha (our daughter) in his lap for the first time. It felt like we have everything that an ideal couple could have had: love, Intimacy, togetherness, sharing and happiness. Time changed everything or maybe his love reached the limit. All he had was complain and lack of satisfaction. I had a year old daughter to take care off and official works. It was difficult for me to manage time and it felt difficult for him to understand that.

It was just 5th year of marriage and it turned out to be just a relationship status. We started talking less. Sometimes out of Alisha’s demand we used to go to the park and had some time together while she played swing but it was not enough to recover all the fault in our relation. Still somedays we used to have romantic nights, because of love? No, because of body needs. Even that stopped after a day when we had big fight, fight of words. We now stopped talking to each other not even a word.

After nearly two months he talked with me. It was like my old husband was back. I was getting all the love and attention from him. I had never seen him that happy and charming. It was like a miracle that changed him. Week later I found it was not a miracle it was his affair with Melisa (a girl from work) that changed him. His love, attention came out of shame and maybe a little regret. An affair made him happy, made him love me more, made him spend more time with us than before. I did not take any action against him. I pretended as if I was unaware of his affair because that is all I wanted from my husband: love, care, attention (except the affair).

It has been five years of his affair and I am still pretending to be unknown just because I love him and cannot afford to lose the happiness in his face. Sometimes it hurts me when he lies about his late night work just to be with Melisa. Bearing more pain for little love. This is where women are good at, I am good at.

My sister thought me mad after knowing all these. She got angrier at him even more. My husband showed off with our daughter. I uttered no! Please don’t disclose, please don’t! She then walked out from the house without saying a word to Amit who seemed surprised of her behavior. I just shook my head signing him it was nothing.

--

--