Soul And Mind

Smarika Upadhyaya
The Zerone
Published in
2 min readDec 20, 2017

--

Source: Google

I am neither frustrated nor very happy,

Because you always said, that I shouldn’t be.

Engorged in the midst of delusions,

Amidst the maze of life, this is me.

I am neither exhausted, nor very active,

Passivity is just an obstacle for you, you believe I shouldn’t achieve.

I am beaten, crushed, crumbled and broken into pieces,

Yet you obey the slogan, “Just give and forgive.”

I feel like screaming and crying out my heart aloud,

But a good girl is expected to be as soft as a cloud.

The clouds are still allowed to rain,

But you always insist me to smile,

Even when I am in this excruciating pain.

I envy you oh my dear brain,

Your infinite power to pull me in this false train.

Masking my fear,emotions and tears,

You work for everyone else, I am nowhere.

I was always free to feel,

You captured me, my liberty to reveal.

Holding for these many years, nothing you let me express,

After all I am just a poor little soul…

As always, you are free to choose how I should dress…

Zerone is an undergrad publication at I.O.E, Pulchowk focusing on People (their creative side, their thoughts, their lives) and Technology (the new, the old, everything).

Follow us for more articles, stories, poems and other cool writings.

--

--