Namrata Pandey
The Zerone
Published in
2 min readJan 9, 2018

--

THE ULTIMATE VANQUISH

17/10/2017
Tuesday

Sniffing the customary festive gusto; trailing through the festival vibes; I stood amidst the familiar cramped alleys of Asan Bazaar, flooded with the shoppers all in a frenzy to grab their “must-have” items, fearing this time I might not be so lucky to pull myself through the chaos.

Caught up in the deathly grasp of “bargain hunters”, I was left gasping for air. While the avalanche of thrifty buyers hit me with much powerful thrust, an untold pain shot up my leg like a bullet. Arrgggggh!!! Aren’t the alleys too narrow for the stupid motorists to scoot off endangering the people on foot! While enough was not enough, a huge compulsive mass of anxious women shoppers grappling over the meretricious garb, jammed my floundering body and the one in all, left me with the Phosphenes.

The arterial streets were chock-a-block by the die-hard shopaholics and the dimwit motorists. While the battlefield was becoming a deathly arena with dangerous intrusions, I emboldened my spirit advancing through the chaos.
Working my way through the crowd of bodies pressing against each other, I aimed at reaching the final intersection; preventing the imbeciles from crossing me diagonally and literally, cursing the ones stabbing me with their umbrellas- GOSH!! You can not just put up your umbrellas in a busy street literally un-walkable and encroach else’s vicinity.

Holy Cow!!! It was pretty tough to nail down the pushes, jostles and tramples by a whole lot of whimsical shoppers. However, but there I stood, eventually reaching my destination triumphantly.

-NAMRATA

--

--